
CA Commentary on Rule 11
Simplified summary of resolutions when play has been stopped 
after a ball [11(a)], or series of balls [11(f)], played out of 
sequence.  Only the last “wrong ball” is rectified as follows:

Replace and 
Replay

No points 
scored; 

replace balls 
& replay turn

IF the striker [see Rule 1(e)] played partner 
ball [singles – 11(b)(1)]*, or

IF the striker’s partner played own ball 
[doubles – 11(c)(1)]*, or

IF in first 3 turns of game [see Rule 5(f)]*

*player or referee should forestall, but only in these cases [5(f) and 11(h)]

Full Penalty
No points 

scored;
opponent 
chooses 

whether to 
replace balls 

& restarts 
sequence 

with either 
ball

IF the striker [see Rule 1(e)] played any 
ball other than own [singles - 11(b)(2)], or

IF the striker’s partner played any ball other 
than own [doubles - 11(c)(2)], or

IF another player played [11(d)], or

IF a side played a wrong ball & immediately 
played further turn(s) [CA Ruling  11]

Condoned
Points 

scored;  
continue in 
sequence 

from last ball 
played

IF the last player played own ball BUT 
previous turn played by opponent with ball 
not belonging to the opponent(s) [11(e)], or

IF after series of wrong balls, the last player 
played own ball which followed in sequence 
from the previous ball played [11(g)]


