hide menuhide menu CA Logo hide menuhide menu

Home > Press > News
CA Logo

Middlesbrough AC Handicap

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesbrough [^] -> bottom
29th April (Handicap Tournaments)

Winner Ian Hall (Keswick); runner-up Fiona Crompton (York)

We welcomed 16 competitors to Albert Park, variously coming from around the north of the UK, seven players from the home club, plus Bill Humphreys all the way from Australia. Handicaps ranged from 0.5 up to 16. All games were standard 26-point, with a 2.75 hour time??limit, reduced later on to 2.5.

On Saturday we ran four separate blocks (each to one of the four lawns), so three games for each player. The next day the 1st & 2nd in each block went into the main knock-out to determine the over-all winner and 3rd & 4th played in a second knock?out for the Plate. Those knocked out of everything could play another game if wanted.

Competitors: Andrew Killick, Roger Staples, Nigel Roberts, Julian Gibson, John Fitzpatrick, Peter & Barbara McDermott (all from MCC).
Joe Lennon (Glasgow), Derek Johnson (Tyneside), Andrew Carpenter (Durham),
Bill Humphreys (Victoria), Ian Hall and Steve Skelton (Keswick), Jim Allcock (Crake Valley), Fiona & John Crompton (York).

Block winners were Killick, Lennon, Gibson and Fitzpatrick.
Main KO: 1st Ian Hall., 2nd Fiona Crompton
Plate KO: 1st Andrew Carpenter, 2nd Roger Staples
CA Silver Badge awarded to Steve Skelton, who went on do another 12-hoop break!


For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is Dave Kibble.