CA Logo
CA Logo

Most-Improved Player Awards

From the 2020 season onwards, the CA will make four annual awards:

Most Improved Male AC Player will receive the Apps Memorial Bowl.
Most Improved Female AC Player will receive the Steel Memorial Bowl.
Most Improved Male GC Player will receive the Spiers Trophy (re-designated 'Male only' for 2020).
Most Improved Female GC Player will receive the Colman Trophy (new award for 2020).

Eligibility will be restricted to players who have membership of a CA member club, and who are playing predominantly within the CA's domain for the period under consideration.

Nominations for these awards should be made by Clubs or Federations and sent to the CA Office by the 8th October. The nomination should provide detailed information about the candidate's improvement during the season (or, in respect of players who join the CA part way through the season, the portion of the season after becoming a CA Member). Nominations should be accompanied by:

The award winners are decided by the CA Handicap Committee, whose decision is final, and the awards are usually presented at the CA AGM or at a suitable occasion of the recipient's choosing.

In determining these awards the Handicap Committee will take into account a range of quantitative and qualitative factors. For example (and for illustrative purposes only), the Association Croquet Awards might take account of:

With the present pattern of play in the domain as a whole, it seems unlikely that handicap play will be especially significant in the award of the Spiers Trophy for the most-improved GC player.

Chairman, Handicap Committee

Frances Colman


For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.