CA Logo
CA Logo

Most-Improved Player Awards

The CA makes four annual Most Improved AC Player awards:

Eligibility is restricted to players who are members of a CA-member club, and who are playing predominantly within the CA's domain for the period under consideration.

Nominations for these awards should be made by Clubs or Federations and sent to the CA Office by the 8th October. The nomination should provide detailed information about the candidate's improvement during the season (or, in respect of players who join the CA part-way through the season, the portion of the season after becoming a CA Member). Nominations should be accompanied by:

The award winners are decided by the Handicap Committee, whose decision is final, and the awards are presented at the CA AGM or at a suitable occasion of the recipient's choosing.

In determining these awards, the Handicap Committee will take into account a range of quantitative and qualitative factors. For example (and for illustrative purposes only), the Association Croquet Awards might take account of:

With the present pattern of play in the domain as a whole, it seems unlikely that handicap play will be especially significant in the award of the Spiers Trophy for the most-improved GC player.

Chairman, Handicap Committee

Frances Colman