CA Logo
CA Logo

Stephen Mulliner won the Guildford May Open Weekend

[<<] [>>] by Samir Patel at Guildford
15-16 May 2004 (AC)

The tournament entry spanned a wide range of handicaps, from Jon Diamond and Ian Parkinson, both entering their first A-class event, to Stephen Mulliner, first time visitor to the Guildford and Godalming Club.

Jon and Ian unsurprisingly struggled with narrower and firmer hoops than they were used to, although both adapted to win one game (+2 in both cases!)

The early favourites found the conditions harder than expected with many scrappy games. With only three TPs during the event - although the first, by Stephen Mulliner, followed a (failed) attempt to 'TPO' oppo's hoop 1 ball. His second followed a failed SXP, with Tony completing the third.

The tournament was won by Stephen on 5/6 having beaten Jamie Burch, also 5/6.

Final Positions

1 83% Stephen Mulliner
2 83% James Burch
3 66% Samir Patel
4 66% Tony Mrozinski
5 60% Roger Tribe
6 50% Ian Plummer
7= 40% Edward Huxley
7= 40% Mike Huxley
9 40% Richard Huxley
10 20% Russell Bretherton
11 20% Jon Diamond
12 16% Ian Parkinson

Full Results

Tony Mrozinski beat Edward Huxley +10
Samir Patel beat Jon Diamond +16
Ian Plummer beat Ian Parkinson +15
James Burch beat Mike Huxley +14
Stephen Mulliner beat Richard Huxley +17 tp
Roger Tribe beat Russell Bretherton +17
Mike Huxley beat Richard Huxley +7(t)
Stephen Mulliner beat James Burch +23
Samir Patel beat Roger Tribe +14
Russell Bretherton beat Jon Diamond +13
Tony Mrozinski beat Ian Plummer +9
Edward Huxley beat Ian Parkinson +3(t)
Stephen Mulliner beat Samir Patel +16 tp
James Burch beat Roger Tribe +3
Tony Mrozinski beat Russell Bretherton +21 tp
Ian Plummer beat Mike Huxley +17
Edward Huxley beat Richard Huxley +22
Jon Diamond beat Ian Parkinson +2(t)
Tony Mrozinski beat Stephen Mulliner +20
James Burch beat Samir Patel +26
Ian Plummer beat Edward Huxley +2(t)
Roger Tribe beat Mike Huxley +21
Ian Parkinson beat Russell Bretherton +2
Richard Huxley beat Jon Diamond +1(t)
James Burch beat Tony Mrozinski +14
Roger Tribe beat Edward Huxley +26
Stephen Mulliner beat Ian Plummer +17
Mike Huxley beat Jon Diamond +15(t)
Richard Huxley beat Russell Bretherton +3
Samir Patel beat Ian Parkinson +16
James Burch beat Ian Plummer +4
Samir Patel beat Tony Mrozinski +4
Stephen Mulliner beat Ian Parkinson +22


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.