CA Logo
CA Logo

Jeff Dawson won the Championship of Surrey

[<<] [>>] by Jeremy Dyer
9th June 2003 (AC - Championships)

Jeff Dawson regained the Championship of Surrey with an excellent fight back in the final against Rutger Beijderwellen. In the early rounds the first upset in the event had seen Samir Patel defeat David Maugham in Round 2 after going a game down. However it was Dawson that was showing early form by reaching the final with clinical displays . As the final got underway it was Rutger who quickly went into a 2-nil lead. Rutger's shooting then seemed to desert him, and Jeff fought back winning the last 3 games as Rutger cracked under pressure: a missed 3-back in the final game by Rutger on the way to a tpo enabled Jeff to gain the innings and complete the last peel of his three and take the title. Having not received the trophy last year Jeff is hoping to catch a glimpse of it one day, when the 2001 winner Fulford finally decides to return it.

The Plate event came down to a best of 3 final with Maugham managing to avenge his defeat in the main event by Patel. Maugham took the Plate final in two close games, riddled with errors. In the first game Maugham managed to peg out on the third attempt, the first two from 3 and 6 yards respectively had seen the forward ball sail merrily past the peg. Advice from spectators who asked 'why don't you line up with the peg and hit it straight?' was finally heeded by Maugham.

Round One

Samir Patel bt Ed Dymock +18tp +15
Ian Plummer bt Collin Southern +12 +24
Kevin Carter bt Stuart Romeril +2 -1t +15
Jenny Williams bt Paul Castell -3 +10 +11
George Noble bt Gary Bennett +26 -15 +14
Eric Solomon bt Graham Gale -3 +23 +11

Round Two

Patel bt David Maugham -15tp +6otp +5
Plummer bt Chris Patmore -26tp +17 +5
Chris Farthing bt Carter +24tp -7 +5
Rutger B. bt Sam Symonds +19 +14
Jeff Dawson bt Williams +26tp +26tp
Tim Wilkins bt Noble +25 +17
Jerry Guest bt Solomon +12tp -23 +5
Jeremy Dyer bt Mark Gooding +20 +25tp

Quarter Finals

Plummer bt Patel +4 +17
Dawson bt Wilkins +2tp +17
Rutger bt Farthing -15tp +26tp +26tp
Dyer bt Guest -17 +26tp +17

Semi Finals

Rutger bt Plummer +25tp -26 +23tp
Dawson bt Dyer -26tp +7 +26tp


Dawson bt Rutger -10tp -26tp +6 +26 +18

3rd / 4th Place Playoff

Dyer bt Plummer +3 +3

Plate Final

Maugham bt Patel +3 +6

Handicap Changes

Patel -1 from -0.5
Wilkins -1.5 from -1
Williams -1 from -0.5
Romeril 3 from 3.5
Dymock 2 from 2.5


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.