CA Logo
CA Logo

Some eights analysis

[<<] [>>] by Chris Williams
13th September 2004 (AC - Championships)

For the seventh time in 12 years the Spencer Ell Cup required a play off. In that time there has only been one play off in the Chairman's (2001 when Goacher beat Harrison-Wood) and two in the President's (2003 and 2001)

In both play offs this year the loser had been leading going into the final round. In my case I missed a 5 yarder after rover (aka a Mulliner) and lost the game -2 - not the best mental preparation for having to go out and do it all again in the driving rain.

The number of TPs in each event were
President's 42 (includes 3 SXPs)
Chairman's 26 (inc. 1 sxp)
Spencer Ell 1
Treasurer's 6

This was the lowest Spencer Ell total since 1992. Ironically the last time Duncan Hector won.

The highest totals in previous years for each eight (56 games) are
President's 47 (there were 69 in the 10 man 1993 event)
Chairman's 35
Spencer Ell 21
Treasurer's 6

Stephen Mulliner has now come within 10 games of John Solomon's 244 game total in the President's Cup. Stephen's 27 appearances is a record.

In the Chairman's David Goacher is now second with 73 game wins behind Edgar Jackson's 87

In the Spencer Ell Cup Chris Williams is way ahead with 62 game wins; Ian Vincent is next with 44.

Paul Smith is the leading Treasurer's game winner with 31 wins, 13 ahead of David Magee.

more analysis and records on Chris' own site


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.