CA Logo
CA Logo

Golf Croquet Rules clarification

[<<] [>>] by Bill Arliss
28th September 2004 (CA Official News)

It has come to my notice that some players are being told that if a ball is placed in the hoop in order during an additional stroke in handicap play and the ball does not complete the running of the hoop within that stroke, the ball cannot score a hoop point for itself in any subsequent strokes unless it first exits from the hoop and starts to run the hoop afresh.

This is not the correct interpretation of the law 16 which states in 16(d) "No point may be scored for the striker's side with the additional stroke". The act of starting to run the hoop is not mentioned anywhere in law 16.

Bill Arliss
Chairman Golf Croquet Rules Committee



 

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.