Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Chris Clarke won the NWFCC Neil Williams Memorial

[<<] [>>] by Geoff Young at Heaton Park
2-3 Apr 2005 (Other News)

Nine players contested each of the A and B classes on lawns which were still not quite down to summer trim, in better weather than the forecast said. Sunshine on the first day enabled speeds to improve, and with no rain this continued into the second day.

In the A class, when Chris Clarke beat Colin Irwin there seemed a high probability of a three-way tie, and much arithmetic was performed by some. However, David Barrett pulled off a surprise by beating Ian Lines in Lines' final game to make Clarke's win the tiebreak.

In the B class, time limiting to 2.75 hours enabled six rounds to be played, but with one sit out in each. Mark Miller and Dennis Graham each won 4/5, Mark having won their head-to-head.
Chris Clarke 7/8

A Class

Colin Irwin 7/8
Ian Lines 6/8
Dave Nick 4/8
Jenny Williams 4/8
David Barrett 3/7
Bob Burnett 3/8
James Hawkins 1/7
Brian Storey 0/8


(most games time limited)
Mark Miller 4/5
Dennis Graham 4/5
Andrew Winn 4/6
Peter Wilson 3/5
John Wilkinson 3/6
Liz Wilson 2/5
Richard Griffiths 2/6
Paul Rigge 1/5
John Wastell 1/5

Full Results

A Class

Clarke bt Hawkins +7
Barrett bt Storey +11
Irwin bt Burnett +17 TP
Lines bt Williams +17
Nick bt Williams +17
Irwin bt Lines +25
Burnett bt Hawkins +15
Clarke bt Nick +25 TP
Williams bt Storey +22 TP
Irwin bt Barrett +6 TP
Lines bt Burnett +7
Nick bt Hawkins +26
Clarke bt Williams +26 TP
Clarke bt Storey +25
Barrett bt Burnett +18
Irwin bt Nick +3 OTP
Williams bt Hawkins +11 OTP
Lines bt Clarke +26 TP
Lines bt Storey +26 TP
Williams bt Burnett +17

Williams bt Barrett +25
Clarke bt Burnett +14 TP
Lines bt Nick +26
Irwin bt Storey +20 TP
Burnett bt Nick +17
Lines bt Hawkins +16 TP
Clarke bt Barrett +26 TP
Irwin bt Williams +26
Clarke bt Irwin +6TP
Barrett bt Lines +10
Nick bt Storey +24
Irwin bt Hawkins +15
Burnett bt Storey +6
Nick bt Barrett +9
Hawkins bt Storey +19


(most games time limited)
L Wilson bt Wastell +11
Rigge bt Griffiths +9
Wilkinson bt P Wilson +12
Graham bt Winn +2
Miller bt Wastell +1
Graham bt L Wilson +12
Winn bt Griffiths +1
Wilkinson bt Rigge +10
P Wilson bt Miller +1
Winn bt L Wilson +21
Graham bt Wilkinson +4
Griffiths bt Wastell +21

Graham bt P Wilson +7
Winn bt Wilkinson +12
Miller bt Rigge +4
Griffiths bt L Wilson +9
Wilkinson bt Griffiths +11
Wastell bt Rigge +5
P Wilson bt Winn +4
Miller bt Graham +11
Miller bt Wilkinson +25
P Wilson bt Griffiths +4
L Wilson bt Rigge +5
Winn bt Wastell +6


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.