Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

2005 Inter-Counties - This weekend

[<<] [>>] by Chris Williams
27th May 2005 (Other News)

The ninety first Inter County Championship will be played over the forthcoming bank holiday weekend at Southwick and Compton. In the first division Cheshire, led by Colin Irwin, will be looking to retain the title they won so convincingly last year. Favourites for the second division must be Dorset, led by Pete Trimmer, who are looking much stronger this year, after last year's surprise relegation. Also featuring for the first time for a few years are three times winners Hampshire (though last in 1938!!)

Twenty one counties, plus a CA select side are playing in the event, and are split into two divisions of 11. The bottom three counties in the first division will be relegated and the top three counties in the second division will be promoted. This will be the ninth year where the counties are divided into 2 divisions and only Avon, Cheshire, Gloucester and Surrey have played in the first division in each year. Avon were relegated once, but survived after the Channel Islands dropped out.

Each match consists of three advanced level doubles games, with the pairs being placed into combined handicap order.

Three trophies are up for grabs - both division winners, and a wooden spoon for the bottom county in the second division. A new replacement wooden spoon has been donated this year by John Solomon, to replace the old one, which disappeared three or four years ago.

(Almost) full historic results can be found at

The team lists as provided in the last week are

(C) denotes Captain

Division 1


Ray Ransom(C), David Goacher, Ed Duckworth, Roger Jenkins, Alex Leggate, Roger Tribe, Marcus Evans, Frances Ransom


Colin Irwin(C), David Maugham, Ian Lines, Brian Storey, Ken Cooper, Lawrence Whittaker


Michael Heap(C), Robert Fulford, Gerard Healy, Jack Wicks, Guy Willard, Paul Stephenson, Colin Hemming


Chris Williams (C), Ian Burridge, John Evans, Garry McElwain, Kevin Ham, Chris Tuthill, Sue Mackay


David Foulser (C), Dave Kibble, Paul Smith, Louise Bradforth, David Magee, Craig Edwards


John Gibbons(C), Duncan Hector, David Lilly, Richard Smith, Sam Symonds, David Tutt, Ian Mantle


James Hawkins(C), David Openshaw, Dave Nick, Bob Burnett, Ailsa Lines, David Barrett, Alan Pidcock


Richard White(C), Keith Aiton, Dean Bennison, James Death, Gordon Hopewell, Patrick Hort, Beatrice McGlen


Steve Comish(C), Mark Avery, Lewis Palmer, Michael Percival, Peter Allnut, Martin Leach


Ian Bond, Jamie Burch, Jeff Dawson, Tony Mrozinski, Stephen Mulliner, George Noble, Samir Patel, Chris Patmore, Tim Wilkins


John Davis(C), Rod Ashwell, Andy Davies, Edward Dymock, Peter Thompson, Charles Waterfield

Division 2


Howard Bottomley(C), Jon Watson, Ben Ashwell, Jon Wheeler, George Collin, John Bevington, Brian Harral, Tom Anderson


Joe King(C), John McMordie, Bob Stephens, Bob Harris, Gina Lewis, Martin Burger


Cliff Jones(C), Brian Smith, John Toye, Jonathan Coombs, Alan Newman


Peter Trimmer(C), David Harrison-Wood, Chris Daniels, Tom Weston, Strat Liddiard, William Ormerod, Dave Trimmer


Brian Fisk(C), James Tuttiet, Dave G Nicholson, Graham Gale, Michael Town, Julie Hudson, Paul Salisbury (Guest)


Ian Price, Dennis Shaw, Peter Nash, David Collins, Dave Mundy, Paul Miles, Robert Alexander, John Hobbs


Phil Cordingley(C), Nick Parish, Nelson Morrow, Tom Coles, Peter Quinn, Nigel Polhill, Graham Brightwell, Gabrielle Higgins, Mike Huxley


Jonathan Toye(C), Nick Harris, Neil Chalmers, Ian Thompson, Bryan Saddington, Jeff Race


Roger Wood(C), Bill Arliss, Rutger Beijderwellen, Paul Castell, Alan Cottle, Jack Davies, David Hopkins, John Low, Ian Vincent


Andrew Gregory(C), Sam Tudor, David Arthur, Martin Granger-Brown, Henry Fellows, Bill Sidebottom, Paul Swaffield

CA Select

Alan Linton(C), Matthew Burrow, Sarah Burrow, Eugene Chang, Chris Irwin, David Mooney, David Price, Frances Low


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.