CA Logo
CA Logo

World Championship Qualifiers - and the winners are

[<<] [>>]

pictureNick Parish waits for the processions (Picture: Dave Mundy)

by Dave Kibble
5th June 2005 (World Championship)

The winners of the 4 remaining English places in the World Championship are Marcus Evans (6 wins), Tim Wilkins (5 wins), Jerry Guest (4 wins) and Ben Ashwell (4 wins).

The hard-fought slog-out at Wrest park wasn't much fun - everyone had problems with the slow lawns. Getting a break was a challenge, and once established it was difficult to break down (although I managed to miss a 9" rush out of hoop 3 to corner 1 - I thought I could afford to hit it as hard as I could, sadly without contacting partner ball. As an Illustration of the speed, I went off only by 7 yards!).

The event was played as a 6 round Swiss, with players kept on tenterhooks until tea time hoping to avoid the multi-way tie. Tim beating Don gave Tim a place, Don wining would have had 4 people in a play-off.

Marcus was undefeated, he coped extremely well with conditions and played to his strengths. Against Tim, he TPO'd and pegged out both balls leaving 1 vs. 1, correctly relying on his superior hooping and shooting (strong Golf Croquet assets.)

Ailsa Lines was looking to be a strong contender until she failed rover after being pegged out by Tim - she had hit some excellent shots and had played well to inhibit Tim's progress.

Chris Patmore demonstrated consistent excellent shooting in several pegged-out games, but finished with the pack on 3 wins. I was told that in one game he ran 4-back hampered so hit the ball in corner 1!

A pair of grazing swans with one offspring interrupted play momentarily as they ambled across the lawn.


Format: Six round pure Swiss

Time Limit: 3 1/4 hours

Tie breaks, in order:
(a) Games won
(b) No. of wins of opponents
(c) Net points
(d) Gross points
(e) Peg shoot out (5 + sudden death)


Marcus Evans 6/6
Tim Wilkins 5/6
Jerry Gueat 4/6
Ben Ashwell 4/6

Unsuccessful candidates:

Duncan Hector 3/6 (Opponents' wins: 24)
Don Gaunt 3/6 (23)
Ailsa Lines 3/6 (20)
Roger Jenkins 3/6 (19)
Chris Patmore 3/6 (18)
David H'son-Wood 3/6 (18)
Samir Patel 3/6 (16)
Dave Kibble 3/6 (15)
Dave Mundy 2/6 (15)
Nick Parish 2/6 (13)
Louise Bradforth 0/6

Round 1

Marcus Evans beat Ian Vincent +25tp
Dave Kibble beat Louise Bradforth +16
Duncan Hector beat Chris Patmore +4
Don Gaunt beat Dave Mundy +22
Roger Jenkins beat David Harrison-Wood +11
Ailsa Lines beat Nick Parish +5
Jerry Guest beat Ben Ashwell +21
Tim Wilkins beat Samir Patel +7

Round 2

Evans beat Kibble +15tp
Hector beat Gaunt +17
Lines beat Jenkins +17
Wilkins beat Guest +14
Vincent beat Bradforth +10
Harrison-Wood beat Mundy +9tp
Patmore beat Parish +2
Patel beat Ashwell +26

Round 3

Evans beat Hector +6qnp
Wilkins beat Lines +2
Gaunt beat Kibble +18
Guest beat Jenkins +21
Harrison-Wood beat Vincent +25tp
Patmore beat Patel +3otp
Mundy beat Bradforth +26
Ashwell beat Parish +6

Round 4

Evans beat Wilkins +1tpo
Hector beat Lines +23tp
Gaunt beat Guest +10
Harrison-Wood beat Patmore +24tp
Jenkins beat Kibble +23
Patel beat Vincent +6tpo
Ashwell beat Mundy +26tp
Parish beat Bradforth +13

Round 5

Evans beat Gaunt +3
Wilkins beat Hector +6
Lines beat Harrison-Wood +12
Guest beat Patmore +12
Jenkins beat Patel +17
Kibble beat Vincent +17
Mundy beat Parish +19
Ashwell beat Bradforth +24

Round 6

Evans beat Harrison-Wood +17
Wilkins beat Gaunt +10
Guest beat Hector +17
Ashwell beat Lines +24tp
Patmore beat Jenkins +20
Kibble beat Mundy +17tp
Parish beat Vincent +9
Patel beat Bradforth +25


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.