Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Marcus Evans won the Student Championship

[<<] [>>]


by Chris Hansen at Oxford
18-19 Jun 2005 (Other News)

The 2005 UK Croquet Association Student Championships were held on June 18-19 in the University Parks, Oxford. The tournament was hosted by Oxford University Croquet Club and had a broad representation of teams and competitors from across the UK and Ireland. With temperatures reaching 28° C, sun burns all around, and quick sandwiches gobbled up between shots, we had two excellent days of play.

The individual championship was won by Marcus Evans from Nottingham University, with a perfect 5-0 record against a tough field of competitors. In second place was Eugene Chang from Imperial College, who won close matches against Chris Hansen, Sam Mooring and Andrew Cottrell to set up the final with Marcus.

In the team championships, Oxford A defended the team title against Trinity College Dublin after defeating the team from Imperial in the semi-finals.

Many thanks go out to Alan Oldham from the CA, who was on hand to present the individual and team trophies.

Participants are listed below:

Player University Handicap
Marcus Evans   Nottingham -1.5
Eugene Chang   Imperial   3.5
Mark Snow Oxford 6
Andrew Cottrell Oxford 6
Sam Mooring Oxford 7
Enda Coyle Trinity College Dublin 10
Conor Broderich Trinity College Dublin 10
Chris Hansen Oxford 10
Anton Evseev   Oxford 14
Tom Tibbetts Imperial 20
Tom Holland-Elliot Imperial 20

Team Event


Trinity College, Dublin (EC & CB) bt Oxford B (CH & SM) +3T
Oxford A (MS & AC) bt Imperial (EC & TT) +6T


Oxford A (AC & AE) bt Trinity College, Dublin (EC & CB) +21

TEAM CHAMPION: Edmund Reeve Cup: Oxford University


Final Standings

1st (The Dudley Hamilton Miller Cup Winner) Marcus Evans 5/5
2nd Eugene Chang 4/5
3rd Chris Hansen 2/3


Anton Evseev bt Tom Holland-Elliot +16T
Mark Snow bt Tom Tibbetts +21
Eugene Chang bt Chris Hansen +3T
Andrew Cottrell bt Enda Coyle +14T
Marcus Evans bt Conor Broderich +24
Sam Mooring bt Anton Evseev +1T
Conor Broderich bt Tom Holland-Elliot +12T
Eugene Chang bt Mark Snow +12T
Marcus Evans bt Andrew Cottrell +17
Marcus Evans bt Anton Evseev +22
Andrew Cottrell bt Conor Broderich +11
Enda Coyle bt Tom Tibbetts +16
Eugene Chang bt Sam Mooring +8
Tom Holland-Elliot bt Tom Tibbetts
Marcus Evans bt Eugene Chang +17
Anton Evseev bt Conor Broderich +7T
Chris Hansen bt Tom Tibbetts +22
Sam Mooring bt Enda Coyle +12T
Marcus Evans bt Sam Mooring +10
Eugene Chang bt Andrew Cottrell +9
Chris Hansen bt Enda Coyle +15
Conor Broderich bt Tom Tibbetts +21


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.