Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Ian Burridge won the Welsh Championship

[<<] [>>] by Chris Williams
1st August 2005 (International)

Ian Burridge defeated Tony Mrozinski in three games to win the Welsh Championship for the fifth time. The second game saw Ian hit the peg on a cross court take off, when he was for rover and peg. The force of the hit was sufficient to knock the peg extension four or five yards. Tony, who was for 3 back and 4 back at the time, nearly came to grief, when he tried peeling 4 back, having forgotten that he was not conceding any more advanced play lifts.

Reigning Champion Sam Tudor, declined to defend his title - he went to the Cambridge Folk Festival instead!!

Thanks to the Bowdon club, who very kindly responded to the Welsh CA's appeal for a loan of four sets of Dawson balls. It was much appreciated, by those players in next weeks World Championship and moreover we managed to solve the problem of having three sets of primaries and one secondaries - Kevin Ham played all his games with Barlow GTs.

It was nice to see Jonathan Bowen from Canberra, Australia at Dyffryn again and to see Liz Fleming from Brisbane, Australia, who is over for next week's World Championship, and came to watch the final days play.

Block A

1 Ian Burridge 4 wins (*)
2 Chris Williams (2+3) 5 wins
3 Garry McElwain (3+1) 4 wins
4 Jonathan Bowen (1+2) 3 wins
5 David Arthur 0 wins

Block B

1 Tony Mrozinski 4 wins (*)
2 John Evans (3+3) 6 wins
3 Cliff Jones (1+2) 3 wins
4 Paul Pristavec (2+1) 3 wins
5 Kevin Ham 0 wins

(*) The player leading the block after the first round is deemed to have won the block and progresses to the semi finals.

Semi Finals

Ian Burridge beat John Evans +17, +26tp
Tony Mrozinski beat Chris Williams +18tp, -18, +13


Ian Burridge beat Tony Mrozinski +23, -1, +26

Past Champions

5 Ian Burridge
3 William Prichard, Chris Williams
2 Sam Tudor
1 Tony Mrozinski, John Evans

More to Come

There will be more Australians at Dyffryn on Thursday when Wales entertain Australia in a pre World Championship warm up match. The teams will be:


John Evans
Garry McElwain
William Prichard
Chris Williams


Ian Dumergue
Tony Hall
Chris Prater
Mark Prater


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.