CA Logo
CA Logo

John Spiers won the Guildford and Godalming B-Level

[<<] [>>]

pictureJohn Spiers, inaugural Frank Rendall Trophy winner

by Mike Huxley at Guildford and Godalming
29-30 July 2006 (AC)

A hot weekend and parched, super-fast, straw-coloured courts presented a real challenge to competitors. As a consequence, rather more games than expected ran to time. Three late withdrawals for medical and personal reasons reduced the number of players from the anticipated maximum of 12 to only nine, with handicaps ranging from 2 to 10.

In the end, victory fell to John Spiers (Blewbury) with a solid 6 wins out of 6. John Male (Caterham) was runner-up, with 5 wins out of 6. Special mention must be made of Mark Godfrey (Guildford and Godalming) who, with a handicap of 10, was entering his first advanced tournament and finished with a very creditable record of 3 wins out of 5.

The Frank Rendall Trophy, inaugurated this year in memory of a long-standing and much respected member of the club, was presented by a very frustrated club chairman, who had had to withdraw from competition on the grounds of having only one arm working (deemed by some to be a poor excuse!)


Chris Donovan beat Iain Gaman +4
Ian Mantle beat Nigel Graves +11
Tim Masterson beat Mark Godfrey +9
John Spiers beat Jon Male +10

Chris Donovan beat Ian Mantle +14
John Spiers beat Tim Masterson +21
Robert Bateson beat Iain Gaman +3
Jon Male beat Nigel Graves +21

John Spiers beat Chris Donovan +10
Jon Male beat Tim Masterson +15
Mark Godfrey beat Nigel Graves +11
Robert Bateson beat Ian Mantle +13

John Spiers beat Robert Bateson +4
Jon Male beat Mark Godfrey +24
Tim Masterson beat Ian Mantle +1
Iain Gaman beat Nigel Graves +14

John Spiers beat Ian Mantle +20
Jon Male beat Robert Bateson +21
Tim Masterson beat Iain Gaman +5
Mark Godfrey beat Chris Donovan +3

John Spiers beat Iain Gaman +14
Jon Male beat Chris Donovan +1
Mark Godfrey beat Robert Bateson +7
Tim Masterson beat Nigel Graves +21


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.