CA Logo
CA Logo

World Championship records

[<<] [>>] by Chris Williams
20th February 2008 (World Championship)

This World Championship was the eleventh since the event started in 1989. Robert Fulford is the only player to have played in all eleven. David Openshaw (1995), Chris Clarke (1997), Jerry Stark (2001) and Stephen Mulliner (2002) have all missed 1.

Chris Clarke at 36 is the second oldest winner after Reg Bamford who was 37 when he won for the second time in 2005. Reg Bamford is the only player to have been over 40 whilst World Champion.

The nearly 13 year gap between Clarke's first and second wins is also the longest gap between wins.

Three players have won the Championship more than once Fulford (5), Bamford(2) and Clarke (2). Joe Hogan and John Walters won once.

The WCF awards Gold medals to the winner, Silver to the runner up and Bronze to the losing semi-finalists.

The all time medal table now reads

  G-S-B Total
England 8-9-10 27
South Africa 2-0-0 2
New Zealand 1-1-6 8
Ireland 0-1-2 3
USA 0-0-2 2
Scotland 0-0-1 1
Wales 0-0-1 1


Players with more than 1 medal are

Fulford 5-3-2 10
Clarke 2-1-1 4
Bamford 2-0-0 2
Walters 1-1-0 2
Mulliner 0-2-2 4
Openshaw 0-1-2 3
Westerby 0-0-2 2

Australia have never won a medal at the World Championships. Six Australians have reached a quarter final, with only 2 in the last 6 Championships:

1992 Pickering and Northey
1994 Kobelt and Taylor
2001 Clarke
2005 Bald


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.