CA Logo
CA Logo

Ian Lines won Pendle & Craven Advanced Weekend

[<<] [>>] by Ian Lines at Pendle & Craven Croquet Club
8 June 2008 (AC)

Ian Lines won the Pendle & Craven Advanced Weekend to retain the David Openshaw Trophy.

The tournament was slightly depleted with just 9 players, so the manager decided on a flexible Swiss format, but with a consolation A class and B class. Everybody played everybody else in their class, but also played some games against players from the other class.

Ian Lines won the overall event, winning all his games, all but one with a triple peel. The consolation A class was closely contested, with Ian Parkinson and Brian Storey both on 2 wins from 4 games within the A class, but Ian Parkinson had a better overall record and so was awarded the A class Chris Clarke Trophy. The B class was even closer, with Mike Porter, Peter McDermott and Roger Schofield all on 2 wins from 3 games within the B class. However, Mike Porter also had a good win against Brian Storey and so was awarded the B class Jeremy Dyer Trophy.

The lawns at Pendle & Craven continue to improve, and although still a little slow (9 to 10 Plummers), are flat and uniform. The hoops were extremely well set by Abdul Ahmad at just under 1/32nd inch, and were firm enough that careless play got punished.

Congratulations should go to Mike Porter on completing his second ever triple peel in a tournament, and to Brian Storey for taking his lifetime total of triples into double figures.

Thanks should also be recorded to Pendle & Craven croquet club for their warm hospitality and excellent catering.


Ian Lines (-2) 6/6 (5 tps) - Overall winner

Ian Parkinson (1) 4/6 - Consolation A class winner
Brian Storey (-0.5) 4/7 (2 tps)
Tom Griffith (1) 4/7
David Barrett (0) 2/5

Mike Porter (2) 3/6 (1 tp) - Consolation B class winner
Roger Schofield (4) 3/6
Peter McDermott (1.5) 2/6
Ken Jones (3) 0/7

Full Results

Tom Griffith beat Mike Porter +13
Roger Schofield beat Ken Jones +17
Ian Parkinson beat Peter McDermott +15
David Barrett beat Brian Storey +3
Ian Lines beat Tom Griffith +26tp
Mike Porter beat Ken Jones +15tp
Ian Lines beat Brian Storey +26tp
Peter McDermott beat Roger Schofield +18
Ian Parkinson beat David Barrett +9
Tom Griffith beat Ken Jones +21
Ian Lines beat Roger Schofield +26tp
Mike Porter beat Brian Storey +5
Peter McDermott beat Ken Jones +15
Ian Parkinson beat Tom Griffith +16
Brian Storey beat Peter McDermott +24tp
Ian Lines beat David Barrett +13tp
Roger Schofield beat Mike Porter +2
Ian Lines beat Ken Jones +24tp
Mike Porter beat Peter McDermott +25
Brian Storey beat Ian Parkinson +13
Tom Griffith beat David Barrett +1(t)
Brian Storey beat Roger Schofield +16
Ian Lines beat Ian Parkinson +15
Tom Griffith beat Peter McDermott +15
David Barrett beat Ken Jones +14
Ian Parkinson beat Mike Porter +15
Roger Schofield beat Ken Jones +20
Brian Storey beat Tom Griffith +12tp

Report and photos can also be found at and


For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is Sam Murray.