CA Logo
CA Logo

Ian Lines won Southport September Advanced Weekend

[<<] [>>] by Ian Lines at Southport
14 September 2008 (AC)

Ian Lines beat Bob Burnett in the final of the Southport September Advanced Weekend to retain The Sandiford Salver for the fifth year in succession.

The early rounds all went with seeding, although both semi-finals went to three, and Tom Griffith had a particularly good win against Ian Lines in the first game of their semi-final. In the first game of the final, Bob failed hoop 3 on 5th turn after a supershot/corner 2 opening, and Ian won +24tp on 8th turn. The second game was also going Ian's way until he fell 2mm short on a 10cm roquet after hoop 3 starting a tp (well, it was uphill !). The innings then changed hands a few times, with some good shooting by both, but Ian eventually prevailed +5.

The consolation event was played as a flexible Swiss, and was deservedly won by Dave Nick with 7/9 wins.

The players enjoyed glorious Southport sunshine all weekend, although the lawns were still a little heavy after last weekend's deluge. The hoops were well set to about a 1/32", and the slight undulations in the lawns made conditions a little tricky.

As always, the catering provided by Southport was excellent and thanks should be recorded to all those who helped and set the courts.

Full results below


Final (best of 3)

Ian Lines beat Bob Burnett +24tp, +5

Semi Final (best of 3)

Bob Burnett beat Dave Nick +23, -2, +26
Ian Lines beat Tom Griffith -5, +19tp, +26tp

Second Round

Ian Lines beat Robert Wilkinson +11
Bob Burnett beat Mike Sandler +22tp
Dave Nick beat Alan Pidcock +8
Tom Griffith beat Ray Lowe +2

First Round

Ian Lines beat Melanie Foster +21tp
Alan Pidcock beat Collin Southern +25
Dave Nick beat Peter Wardle +12
Ray Lowe beat Terry Foster +18
Tom Griffith beat Peter McDermott +11
Robert Wilkinson beat Carol Lewis +2(t)


Bob Burnett beat Collin Southern +14
Mike Sandler beat Melanie Foster +12
Peter Wardle beat Terry Foster +11
Peter McDermott beat Carol Lewis +8(t)
Robert Wilkinson beat Mike Sandler +8
Melanie Foster beat Collin Southern +4
Peter Wardle beat Alan Pidcock +2
Peter McDermott beat Ray Lowe +9
Mike Sandler beat Carol Lewis +21
Ray Lowe beat Mike Sandler +5
Peter Wardle beat Robert Wilkinson +8
Collin Southern beat Terry Foster +21
Alan Pidcock beat Peter McDermott +4(t)
Dave Nick beat Melanie Foster +4
Mike Sandler beat Collin Southern +24
Dave Nick beat Tom Griffith +15
Peter Wardle beat Ray Lowe +16
Peter McDermott beat Robert Wilkinson +2
Dave Nick beat Robert Wilkinson +21tp
Mike Sandler beat Alan Pidcock +9
Dave Nick beat Ray Lowe +25tp
Mike Sandler beat Peter Wardle +16
Tom Griffith beat Collin Southern +2


For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is Sam Murray.