Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Paul Widger won the All England Area Final

[<<] [>>] by Peter Wilson at Bowdon
6 Sep 2009 (AC - Handicap)

Paul Widger won the All England Area Final 5th & 6th September 2009.

Six clubs sent a total of 14 players to the Area Final. The field contained David Eckford and Colin Irwin both of whom have won the trophy in the past.

Bowdon Colin Irwin -1 1/2
Pendle Robert Essler 2
Bury Paul Kenworthy 4 1/2
Bowdon Paul Widger 7
Bowdon Charles Harding 8
Bowdon Francois Garcia 8
Woodhall Spa David Eckford 9
Bowdon Janice Moir 11
Bury Margaret Anderton 14
Fylde Betty Bates 14
Bowdon Patrick Cheyne 18
Fylde Ian Theakstone 18
Southport Eileen Gallagher 20
Southport Eileen Rossiter 24

Managers Peter & Liz Wilson
ROT Colin Irwin

The tournament was a 5 round Swiss with no protection for handicap difference or club allegiances.

Round 1.

Paul Widger unveiled his game plan by going to 4 back and cross wiring Robert Essler at hoop 1. When Robert missed the long shot, Paul then went to peg and joined up at hoop 1 with another cross wire at 4 back finishing on the next turn. David Eckford achieved a CA Silver Merit Award.

Round 2.

Colin Irwin pegged out Oppo and his own ball to leave a two ball ending with his clip on hoop 2 and David Eckford on on hoop 1 with two and a half bisques left. David used the bisques well to get a six point lead but Colin hit a long roquet and finished. Ian Theakston achieved a CA Bronze Merit Award.

Round 3.

Colin Pegged Betty Bates out but she managed the three ball break well and won +11.

Round 4.

Paul Widger took the outright lead in the sunshine. Paul also claimed a CA Bronze Merit Award as did Patrick Cheyne.

Round 5.

The winner was still not clear and any of eight players were able to qualify depending on the results. After the last game finished Paul Widger was the outright winner with 5/5 but a complicated tie break had to be resolved to find the other qualifiers. Paul Kenworthy achieved a CA Silver Award.

Qualifiers for Roehampton:

Winner Paul Widger (7) Bowdon
2nd Betty Bates (14) Fylde
3rd Eileen Gallagher (16) Southport & Birkdale
4th Janice Moir (11) Bowdon
5th reserve Francois Garcia (8) Bowdon


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.