CA Logo
CA Logo

Ian Lines won the Southport Advanced Weekend

[<<] [>>] by Ian Lines at Southport Croquet Club
18 April 2010 (AC)

Ian Lines beat Keith Aiton +15, +26, -5tp, -24tp, +26 in a closely contested final to win the Jubilee Tankard at the Southport April Advanced Weekend.

All the preceding rounds of the 16 player main event also went exactly according to seeding, with no great surprises.

The consolation plate (a flexible Swiss) was won by James Hopgood with 5/6, only losing to Lionel Tibble who was also playing well.

The final was a fairly interactive match, with both players making uncharacteristic errors, generally caused by the slight hills around some hoops (all set at ~1/32") leading to some difficult hoop approaches. The early season top dressing and sand was also sticking to the balls a little in the morning, which also made things slightly tricky. However, both players shot quite well throughout the match. Keith's tps in the afternoon, when conditions got drier and easier, were very neat, but he just failed to hit a few shots in the final deciding game.

Many thanks to Southport for laying on an excellent tournament, and particularly to Terry Foster for all his work setting out the lawns, and for stepping in at the last minute to replace Lee Hartley, who was stranded abroad (is this the first time a croquet tournament has been affected by a volcanic eruption?).

Congratulations also to Paul Rigge for getting his handicap down to -0.5.

Full results as follows:

First Round
Ian Lines beat Terry Foster +26tp
Paul Rigge beat Alan Pidcock +18
Lionel Tibble beat Alan Mayne +20
James Hopgood beat Ray Lowe +7
Ailsa Lines beat Melanie Foster +16
Dave Nick beat Tom Griffith +8
Bob Burnett beat Jerry Guest +7
Keith Aiton beat Carol Lewis +22tp

Second Round
Ian Lines beat Paul Rigge +26tp
Lionel Tibble beat James Hopgood +14
Ailsa Lines beat Dave Nick +9
Keith Aiton beat Bob Burnett +10tpo

Semi Final (best of 3)
Ian Lines beat Lionel Tibble +26tp, +17
Keith Aiton beat Ailsa Lines +17tp, +26tp

Final (best of 5)
Ian Lines beat Keith Aiton +15, +26, -5tp, -24tp, +26

Terry Foster beat Alan Mayne +2
Tom Griffith beat Ray Lowe +2
Alan Pidcock beat Melanie Foster +21
Jerry Guest beat Carol Lewis +13
Paul Rigge beat Bob Burnett +11
James Hopgood beat Terry Foster +20
Carol Lewis beat Alan Mayne +2
Jerry Guest beat Alan Pidcock +24tp
Ray Lowe beat Melanie Foster +7
Bob Burnett beat Tom Griffith +8
Dave Nick beat Paul Rigge +1
Lionel Tibble beat Bob Burnett +9
Paul Rigge beat Tom Griffith +19
Jerry Guest beat Dave Nick +19
James Hopgood beat Ailsa Lines +21tp
Bob Burnett beat Dave Nick +26
Lionel Tibble beat Paul Rigge +21
James Hopgood beat Jerry Guest +5
Ailsa Lines beat Tom Griffith +12
Alan Mayne beat Melanie Foster +13
Terry Foster beat Carol Lewis +15
Alan Pidcock beat Ray Lowe +4
Alan Mayne beat Bob Burnett +3
Dave Nick beat Carol Lewis +9
Paul Rigge beat Ray Lowe +11
Jerry Guest beat Tom Griffith +14
Bob Burnett beat Ailsa Lines +13
James Hopgood beat Lionel Tibble +2

Ian Lines (-2) 7/9
Keith Aiton (-2) 6/9
James Hopgood (-1) 5/6
Jerry Guest (0.5) 4/6
Lionel Tibble (-1.5) 4/7
Paul Rigge (0) 4/7
Bob Burnett (-1) 4/8
Dave Nick (-1) 3/6
Alan Pidcock (0.5) 2/4
Terry Foster (3.5) 2/4
Ailsa Lines (-1) 3/7
Alan Mayne (0.5) 2/5
Ray Lowe (1) 1/5
Carol Lewis (4) 1/5
Tom Griffith (0.5) 1/6
Melanie Foster (3.5) 0/4


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.