CA Logo
CA Logo

Stephen Mulliner won the Surbiton Golf Croquet Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Nelson Morrow at Surbiton Croquet Club
18 April 2010 (GC)

Stephen Mulliner won the 8th Surbiton Golf Croquet Open, beating Nelson Morrow in the Final.

The first day was block play, with four blocks playing five best-of-two matches. Lack of early season form was in evidence with only four of top eight seeds qualifying for the knockout. The top scorers of day one were Stephen Mulliner, Howard Cheyne and Nelson Morrow, all on 9/10.

Those players not in the knocked played two best-of-3 matches against the player who finished in the same position as them in another block.

The eight players in the knocked played three best-of-3 matches to find the 1-8 positions.

The final lasted nearly two hours but in the end Mulliner's consistent shooting and clearing, won the day and added a new name to the cup. Mulliner remarked that the lawns looking were very impressive (playing at 11.3 plummers) and this boded well for the forthcoming MacRobertson Shield in August.

Knockout Results

Stephen Mulliner beat William Gee 7-1 7-4
Andrew Johnson beat Roger Barnacle 7-2 6-7 7-6
Howard Cheyne beat Dick Stover 7-5 5-7 7-4
Nelson Morrow beat Jamie Burch 7-4 7-2

Mulliner beat Johnson 7-3 7-4
Morrow beat Cheyne 7-5 7-6

Mulliner beat Morrow 7-4- 7-3

Final Placings

1. Stephen Mulliner
2. Nelson Morrow
3. Howard Cheyne
4. Andrew Johnson
5. Jamie Burch
6. Roger Barnacle
7= William Gee
7= Dick Strover
9. Tim King
10. Simon Carter
11. James Goodbun
12. Pierre Beaudry
13. Malcolm Bigg
14. Charlie Von Schmieder
15. Nick Butler
16. Derek Old
17. Richard Thompson
18. Richard Brooks
19. Bill Arliss
20. Nicholas Cheyne
21. Terje Johanson
22. Richard Harris

Don Beck & Frances Coleman withdrew after block play.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.