Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Dennis Scarr won Middlesbrough HandicapTournament

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesborough Croquet Club
9 May 2010 (AC - Handicap)

Dennis Scarr won Middlesbrough Handicap Tournament, with Don McKinley and Roger Staples coming joint second.

Twelve players from several northern clubs (Bowdon, Penrith & North Lakes, Tyneside, Auckland and M'bro) entered. As last year, we used the 18 point format with 2-hour time limits which worked well; only a quarter of the games going to time. Four rounds were played in a biting wind on Saturday and three more on Sunday, when we had sunshine, thank goodness.

Rounds were selected from an American block, starting with games between similar handicaps. Subsequent rounds were then chosen so as to minimise waiting time and allow some quicker finishers to start their next games. Block positions were computed at the end of play each day by Geoff Taylor using a 'comparative scoring' program (based on Gaunt & Wheeler), in which each person's performance is compared with everyone else's (only games played against 'opponents in common' being significant). Dennis, winning all his seven games, emerged as clear victor, collecting a glass trophy (and a significant handicap reduction!).


1st Dennis Scarr (MCC), 2nd= Don McKinley (MCC) & Roger Staples (MCC)
4th Sheila Watts (TCC), 5th David Turner (TCC), 6th Eugene Brady (ACC)
7th Howard Bowron (P&NLCC), 8th= Derek Watts (TCC) & Cyril Dransfield (MCC)
10th John Fitzpatrick (MCC), 11th Tony Hudson (BCC), 12th Helen Hudson (BCC).

HC changes: Dennis 14/12 to 10, Dave 6 to 5, Eugene 9 to 8, Tony 3.5 to 4, Sheila 9 to 8


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.