Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Sidmouth June Mid Summer Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Julie Horsley at Sidmouth Croquet club
13 June 2010 (AC - Mixed)

Wednesday morning saw the start of the knockout handicap singles. At the end of the day the 4 semi-finalists were Jamieson Walker ( Edinburgh (Meadows)), Rosemary Bradshaw ( Budleigh Salterton/Fowey) Robert Hammond ( Sidmouth) and Brian Pollock ( Budleigh Salterton). Thursday morning saw Rosemary Bradshaw beat Jamieson Walker and Brian Pollock beat Robert Hammond. The Final on Sunday saw Rosemary Bradshaw narrowly beating Brian Pollock
The Class games started on Thursday and continued through to Sunday.

Block A

Advanced Play for the Challenge Cup saw last year's winner Richard Mills ( Sidmouth) and Brian Shorney ( Kington Langley/Cheltenham/Budleigh Salterton) in the Final, both only having lost 1 game. After a close game Brian Shorney emerged as the winner.

Block B

Advanced Play for the Fortfield Cup saw Ken Wallman ( Sidmouth ) beat last year's winner Brian Pollock( Budleigh Salterton) in the Final.
Block C - Handicap Play for the Dwerryhouse Cup saw Rosemary Bradshaw narrowly beaten by Derek Powell ( Sidmouth) in the Final.

The Egyptian saw both Jamieson Walker and Geoff Young ( Bury) with level points but in the game between them to decide the winner it was Jamieson who took home the trophy.
Derek Powell won the fastest game - with his row of bisques - in a time of 70 minutes.
The weather was good throughout the tournament, with just a gentle breeze blowing off the sea .


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.