Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Welsh Championship 2001

[<<] [>>] by Chris Williams
30th July 2001 (International)

Chris Williams won the Welsh title for the third time when he beat four times winner and current holder Ian Burridge in a hard fought final in very hot weather at Dyffryn Gardens. Lewis Palmer won the Plate.

Block A

1 Tony Mrozinski 4 wins
2 Chris Williams 4 wins (2 TPs)
3 Ian Burridge 3 wins
4 Lewis Palmer 2 wins
5 John Grimshaw 1 win
6 Paul Pristavec 1 win

Block B

1 Sam Tudor 4 wins
2 John Evans 4 wins
3 James Mackay 3 wins
4 David Walters 2 wins
5 William Prichard 2 wins
6 Colin Prichard 0 wins

Quarter Finals

Williams beat Mackay +15
Burridge beat Evans +25

Semi Finals

Williams beat Tudor +14, -17, +11
Burridge beat Mrozinski +11, +17

3rd Place

Tudor beat Mrozinski +15, +25


Williams beat Burridge +23, -26, +6


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.