CA Logo
CA Logo

Chris Jackson won the Grass Roots Competition

[<<] [>>] by Pat Wright
20th September 2010 (GC)

Chris Jackson from the Long Eaton Club won the 2010 Grass Roots competition.

There were 55 entrants from nine clubs in this year's Grass Roots competition. The aim is to attract players with handicaps of 9 or more to play in a national competition. The first round was played at the clubs with the top players progressing to two regional semi-finals. These semi-finals were played at Bury for those players from the North and at Watford for those from the South. Ken Eccles was placed first at Bury with Roger Reed coming second. At Watford Roger Mackinnon was placed first and Robin Oldland was second.

Sixteen players qualified for the final at Northampton on 11th September and, to the relief of the manager, all were there ready to start at 11.00 am. Six rounds of progressive doubles produced four finalists.

They were Marie-Jose Oldland (25 points) from Lansdown Croquet Club, Bath, Robert Archer (23 points) from Watford, Chris Jackson from Long Eaton and Lorna Jenkins from Reigate Priory (both with 22 points). After four closely contested games the results were:
1 Chris Jackson
2 Robert Archer
3 Marie-Jose Oldland
4 Lorna Jenkins

Pat Wright


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.