CA Logo
CA Logo

Nigel Polhill won the Edgbaston Advanced Weekend

[<<] [>>] by Andrew Gregory at Edgebaston Croquet Club
14 August 2011 (AC)

Nigel Polhill won the Tompkinson Shield at Edgbaston with a 100% record. Paul Swaffield was runner-up. Sadly there was not time for the traditional best-of-2 play-off. Carol Smith gained the most HCPs (apart from Nigel). Conditions were much trickier than last year, with the lawns a variegated green and brown. This led to 25% fewer games, and no TPs (last year: 7). There were many close games.

In upside-down land, the Mangler did produce a final, as Henry Fellows condemned Sean Sheridan to the Wooden Spoon. Sean was certainly not outclassed, and would have won at least one game with better tactics. Sean was presented with a courgette which Cyril Fletcher would have appreciated. This takes me back to my first away CA event, a Wrest Park handicap tournament in 1984, when Tom Anderson presented Janet Assheton with a pair of cabbages.

Winner Nigel Polhill 6/6

Runner-up Paul Swaffield 4/5

3rd= Martin Gr. Brown 3/5

Andrew Gregory 3/5

Jerry Guest 3/5

Nick Hyne 3/5

Carol Smith 3/5

8th= Robbie Dodds 3/6

Kevin Carter 3/6

10th Ian Parkinson 2/5

11th Gary Bennett 2/7

12th Henry Fellows 1/5

13th Sean Sheridan 0/7


Nigel Polhill beat Gary Bennett +4

Ian Parkinson beat Kevin Carter +2

Martin Granger Brown beat Andrew Gregory +7

Nick Hyne beat Robbie Dodds +17

Carol Smith beat Sean Sheridan +20

Paul Swaffield beat Henry Fellows +5

Jerry Guest beat Sean Sheridan +19

Nick Hyne beat Carol Smith +10

Robbie Dodds beat Henry Fellows +14

Paul Swaffield beat Ian Parkinson +23

Kevin Carter beat Gary Bennett +4

Nigel Polhill beat Martin Granger Brown +10

Andrew Gregory beat Sean Sheridan +11

Kevin Carter beat Jerry Guest +23

Gary Bennett beat Ian Parkinson +14

Paul Swaffield beat Nick Hyne +16

Carol Smith beat Henry Fellows +6

Andrew Gregory beat Robbie Dodds +24

Martin Granger Brown beat Sean Sheridan +2

Nigel Polhill beat Kevin Carter +11

Jerry Guest beat Gary Bennett +3


Nigel Polhill beat Paul Swaffield +17

Jerry Guest beat Carol Smith +7

Martin Granger Brown beat Nick Hyne +16

Andrew Gregory beat Kevin Carter +14

Robbie Dodds beat Ian Parkinson +25

Gary Bennett beat Sean Sheridan +13

Ian Parkinson beat Henry Fellows +22

Robbie Dodds beat Gary Bennett +11

Kevin Carter beat Sean Sheridan +7

Nigel Polhill beat Jerry Guest +15

Paul Swaffield beat Andrew Gregory +16

Carol Smith beat Martin Granger Brown +13

Nick Hyne beat Gary Bennett +5

Henry Fellows beat Sean Sheridan +9

Nigel Polhill beat Robbie Dodds +14


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.