CA Logo
CA Logo

14 UK players qualify for the knockout

[<<] [>>] by Dave Kibble
1st May 2012 (World Championship)

The block stage is over and the final 32 are decided. 14 of them are regulars on the UK circuit.

Reg Bamford
Robert Fulford
David Maugham
Paddy Chapman
Miranda Chapman
Stephen Mulliner
Rutger Beijderwellen
James Death
Samir Patel
Marcus Evans
Jeff Dawson
Ian Lines
James Hopgood
David Openshaw

Chris Clarke writes: Today, we had the two play-off games to decide the last 2 places in the K.O.

The first was between Greg Bryant and Ian Lines. It looked like Greg would win comfortably before he opted to peel 4-b getting a rush to 3-b and subsequently misapproached 3-b from 2 yards away. He ran the hoop, but had a very difficult sweep which needed to be played right handed - (Greg is left handed). He turned this down and cornered and Ian finished in 2 turns to eliminate the NZ Open Champ.

The second play-off was a thriller between Alan Sands and Harps Tahurangi. Both players had fairly easy chances to make the K.O., but nerves got the better of them and the game see-sawed much to the enjoyment of the crowd. Eventually, Harps was laid up for peg and peg and Alan (for rover alone) took on a 30 yarder, which missed narrowly to let the Kiwi through.

The 32 in the K.O. are split as follows
Aus 11
Eng 10
NZ 8
Can 1
S.A. 1
Sco 1

For commentary of the nail-biting play-off that let Ian Lines qualify, see Jenny Clarke's (who also qualified) report


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.