CA Logo
CA Logo

Pendle & Craven Advanced Tournament Results

[<<] [>>]

picturePendle Advanced Weekend - Dennis Scarr braving the weather. (Photo: Matt Holmes)

by Peter Wilson at Pendle & Craven CC
17 June 2012 (AC)

David Openshaw Trophy - (Seeded KO) Winner Lionel Tibble
Chris Clarke Trophy - A Class Egyptian Winner Mike Town
Jeremy Dyer Trophy - B Class Egyptian Winner Peter Wilson
Chris Hudson Trophy - Fastest Game Winner Matt Holmes 38 Minutes

When play started it had been raining for 24 hours but we found four lawns were open. As the day progressed various showers passed over and we went down to three. The result of the changeable weather was a very slow flooding culminating in a six o clock monsoon downpour totally wiping out the club, Earby and most of Yorkshire. And darkness. Nevertheless much progress was made in the seeded knockout and many Egyptian games were played. Everyone seemed to welcome the challenge, it was not cold.

Round 1
Mike Town beat Dennis Scarr +6
Matt Holmes beat Norman Hicks +20
Peter Wilson beat Roger Schofield +3
Peter McDermot beat Liz Wilson +1
Phill Scarr beat Roger Staples +14 TP
Lionel Tibble beat Malcolm Daines +26TP

Round 2
Matt Holmes beat Dave Nick +17 TP
Lionel Tibble beat Peter Wilson +24
Mike Town beat Lee Hartley +1
Phil Scarr beat Peter McDermott +16 TP

Lee Hartley beat Dave Nick +3 TP
Norman Hicks beat Malcom Daines +17
Dennis Scarr beat Roger Staples +6
Dave Nick beat Liz Wilson +1
Matt Holmes beat Roger Schofield +24 TP
Lionel Tibble beat Phill Scarr +6
Peter McDermott beat Norman Hicks +6
Roger Schofield beat Malcolm Daines +8
Mike Town beat Matt Holmes +14
Dave Nick beat Dennis Scarr +26
Dave Nick beat Peter Wilson +13
Phill Scarr beat Mike Town +10
Matt Holmes beat Dennis Scarr +22
Dawn on day two was ushered in by blue skies and sunshine, Miraculously drying four lawns and several pairs of trainers. Lionel & Phill started the best of three final double banked but were soon on their own with Phill taking game one before lunch. The rest of us played as much croquet as we could in the Sunshine. After lunch there were some head to head battles for the A and B Class trophies. Lionel had the best of the afternoon in the final.

Semi Finals
Phill Scarr beat Mike Town +10
Lionel Tibble beat Matt Holmes +17


Lionel Tibble beat Phill Scarr -6, +12, +18

Dave Nick beat Peter McDermott +26 TP
Lee Hartley beat Roger Schofield +8
Peter Wilson beat Norman Hicks +14
Liz Wilson beat Roger Staples +9
Dennis Scarr beat Malcom Daines +20
Roger Staples beat Roger Schofield +6
Mike Town beat Dave Nick +8
Matt Holmes beat Peter McDermott +26
Lee Hartley beat Liz Wilson +3
Mike Town beat Liz Wilson +18
Peter McDermot beat Malcom Daines +2
Norman Hicks beat Dennis Scarr +12
Matt Holmes beat Peter Wilson +26 TP
Roger Schofield beat Norman Hicks +19
Peter Wilson beat Peter McDermott +7
Malcolm Daines beat Dennis Scarr +1
Dave Nick beat Matt Holmes +17


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.