CA Logo
CA Logo

Watford Tournament Results

[<<] [>>] by Simon Hathrell at Watford (Cassiobury) Croquet Club
16 June 2012 (AC)

Watford club staged its return to the CA tournament circuit for Association Croquet after a gap of 6 years with a change of format to a one-day event, which appeared to work out well. In spite of the generally unseasonal weather of late, on the tournament day the worst of the weather went elsewhere, leaving Watford lucky enough to stay almost completely dry all day. There was even some occasional sunshine to brighten things up, so the worst that the players had to contend with in the end was only some blustery wind and slow courts.
Photos and further details of the event are available on the Watford club website at

Block A (Level Advanced, 8 players, 3-round Swiss) - Alfred Purvis Memorial Trophy: Graham Brightwell (3/3)
Jeremy Scott (2/3) won the consolation prize for the player, other than the winner, with the largest handicap index gain in the day.
Block B (Handicap Advanced, 4 players, all-play-all): Geoff Johnson (2/3)

Block A (Level Advanced) results:
Arthur Reed beat Nigel Polhill +3(T)
Graham Brightwell beat John Bee +18
Ian Parkinson beat Jon Palin +9
Gary Bennett beat Jeremy Scott +13
Graham Brightwell beat Arthur Reed +4(T)
Gary Bennett beat Ian Parkinson +26
Nigel Polhill beat John Bee +25
Jeremy Scott beat Jon Palin +5
Graham Brightwell beat Gary Bennett +25
Jeremy Scott beat Nigel Polhill +16
Ian Parkinson beat Arthur Reed +6(T)
Jon Palin beat John Bee +11

Block B (Handicap Advanced) results:
Rick Weinstein (9) beat Mark Homan (5) +17
Robin Barry (10) beat Geoff Johnson (9) +15
Robin Barry (10) beat Mark Homan (5) +6
Geoff Johnson (9) beat Rick Weinstein (9) +12
Geoff Johnson (9) beat Mark Homan (5) +10
Rick Weinstein (9) beat Robin Barry (10) +12

After the block stage there were three players tied on 2/3, each of whom had won 1 game against one of those other two players. A competitive challenge involving 2-ball breaks was therefore staged to resolve the winner, which was won by Geoff Johnson with a 3-hoop break against only 1 hoop made by Robin Barry and Rick Weinstein.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.