CA Logo
CA Logo

Lionel Tibble won the Southport Advanced Weekend

[<<] [>>] by James Hawkins at Southport & Birkdale Croquet Club
16 September 2012 (AC)

Lionel Tibble beat James Hawkins to win the final of the Southport Advanced Weekend on 15-16 September.

Mark Ormerod beat Phill Scarr to win the plate event, on a day of miserable drizzle. The spectators' highlight of the event was the endgame between Brian Christmas, in his first A class event, and Dave Nick. Brian had been pegged out while for 4-back vs 3 and peg. In some adventurous play, he jawsed his ball in penult from corner 2 before Dave scrambled round to peg. Dave took out one ball, leaving partner six inches from the peg and Brian near corner 3; Brian hit his last shot to win by 1.


Main Event

James Hawkins bt Brian Christmas +3
Dave Nick bt Mike Sandler +6
Lionel Tibble bt Alan Pidcock +24
Mark Lloyd bt Brian Kerr +20
John Haslam bt Derek Knight +14
Phill Scarr bt Carol Lewis +3
Mark Ormerod bt Dennis Scarr +9
Jerry Guest bt Collin Southern +9
Ray Lowe bt Peter McDermott +8
James Hawkins bt Dave Nick +24
Lionel Tibble bt Mark Lloyd +18
Phill Scarr bt John Haslam +25
Mark Ormerod bt Jerry Guest +16
James Hawkins bt Ray Lowe +26TP
Lionel Tibble bt Phill Scarr +21, +26TP
James Hawkins bt Mark Ormerod +16TP, +4
Lionel Tibble bt James Hawkins +16TP, -17TP, +25TP

Plate Event

Alan Pidcock bt Brian Kerr +7
Brian Christmas bt Derek Knight +3(T)
Mike Sandler bt Dennis Scarr +3
Peter McDermott bt Collin Southern +21
Carol Lewis bt Mark Lloyd +1
Dave Nick bt Lionel Tibble +9TPO
Alan Pidcock bt Mike Sandler +24
Brian Kerr bt Dennis Scarr +14
Dave Nick bt Ray Lowe +12
Collin Southern bt John Haslam +11
Brian Christmas bt Peter McDermott +17
Jerry Guest bt Derek Knight +24
Mark Lloyd bt Derek Knight +22
Dave Nick bt Brian Kerr +5
Dennis Scarr bt Collin Southern +23
Mark Ormerod bt Dave Nick +5
Phill Scarr bt Jerry Guest +15
Brian Christmas bt Alan Pidcock +4
John Haslam bt Mark Lloyd +9
Dennis Scarr bt Derek Knight +23
Carol Lewis bt Collin Southern +22
Brian Kerr bt Mike Sandler +15
Jerry Guest bt Mike Sandler +19
Mark Ormerod bt Phill Scarr +16
Mark Lloyd bt Dennis Scarr +13
Derek Knight bt Brian Kerr +15
Lionel Tibble bt Brian Kerr +26TP
Brian Christmas bt Dave Nick +1


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.