Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Steve Jones won the Cheltenham Advanced Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Paul Hands at Cheltenham Croquet Club
7 July 2013 (AC)

Steve Jones - back in the UK from New Zealand and playing in this tournament as preparation for the Worlds, duly won the A Class event, beating Dave Mundy in straight games in the best-of-3 final. Notable performers over the weekend included Joel Taylor, unstoppable in the B Class, and Nick Parish, who swept all aside in the Egyptian.

A Class Winner: Steve Jones Runner-up: Dave Mundy
B Class Winner: Joel Taylor Runner-up: Tony Forbes
C Class Winner: Klim Seabright Runner-up: Richard Jackson
D Class Winnjer: Peter Petrie Runner-up: Pat Jackson
E Class Winner: Michael James Runner-up: Penny Crowe
Egyptian Winner: Nick Parish

A Class:-
Nick Parish beat Nick Saxton +23TP
Eugene Chang beat Paul Watson +3TP
Dave Mundy beat Paul Smith +16
Steve Jones beat Nick Parish +18TP
Peter Francis beat Les Bowker +3
Dave Mundy beat Eugene Chang +8
Steve Jones beat Peter Francis +11
Steve Jones beat Dave Mundy +4, +23

B Class:-
Richard Thompson beat John Wells +3
Tony Forbes beat Robert Moss +14
Joel Taylor beat Alwen Bowker +20TP
Alison Thursfield beat Darryl Whitehead +14
Tony Forbes beat Richard Thompson +10
Joel Taylor beat Alison Thursfield +24
Joel Taylor beat Tony Forbes

C Class:-
Klim Seabright beat Jane Babbage +9
Ray Meads beat Keith Davis +9
Adam Moliver beat John Thirlwell +6
Richard Jackson beat Chris Wakeham +1 (T)
Klim Seabright beat Ray Meads +6
Richard Jackson beat Adam Moliver +5 (T)
Klim Seabright beat Richard Jackson +15

D Class (Level Singles played as a Block):-
Peter Petrie beat Alan Slater +10
Pat Jackson beat Les Kershaw +7
Kathy Wallace beat Martin Kolbuszewski +13
Peter Petrie beat Martin Kolbuszewski +18
Pat Jackson beat Alan Slater +4
Kathy Wallace beat Les Kershaw +5
Peter Petrie beat Kathy Wallace +14
Alan Slater beat Les Kershaw +24
Pat Jackson beat Martin Kolbuszewski +7 (T)
Peter Petrie beat Pat Jackson +12
Martin Kolbuszewski beat Les Kershaw +23
Alan Slater beat Kathy Wallace +5
Les Kershaw beat Peter Petrie +6
Alan Slater beat Martin Kolbuszewski +21
Pat Jackson beat Kathy Wallace +1 (T)

E Class (Level Singles played as a Block):-
Penny Crowe beat Michael James +1 (T)
Caroline Denny beat Christine Wakeham +7
Pat Francis beat Rodney Parkins +4
Penny Crowe beat Christine Wakeham +1 (T)
Michael James beat Rodney Parkins +7
Caroline Denny beat Pat Francis +23
Rodney Parkins beat Christine Wakeham +9
Michael James beat Pat Francis +1 (T)
Penny Crowe beat Caroline Denny +5 (T)
Rodney Parkins beat Penny Crowe +19
Christine Wakeham beat Pat Francis +2 (T)
Michael James beat Caroline Denny +4 (T)
Pat Francis beat Penny Crowe +1 (T)
Caroline Denny beat Rodney Parkins +17
Michael James beat Christine Wakeham +1 (T)

Nick Parish beat Paul Smith +1
Joel Taylor beat Robert Moss +15
Adam Moliver beat Jane Babbage +13
Alwen Bowker beat Les Bowker +9
John Thirlwell beat Darryl Whitehead +3 (T)
Richard Thompson beat Rayu Meads +4
Keith Davis beat John Wells +6
Dave Mundy beat Paul Watson +23
Robert Moss beat Chris Wakeham +6 (T)
Eugene Chang beat Tony Forbes +4
Eugene Chang beat John Thirlwell +18
Steve Jones beat Joel Taylor +4
Paul Watson beat Richard Jackson +4 (T)
Paul Smith beat Nick Saxton +25
Darryl Whitehead beat Tony Forbes +8
Nick Parish beat Paul Watson +23TP
Nick Saxton beat Peter Francis +20
Chris Wakeham beat Jane Babbage +10
Robert Moss beat Keith Davis +15
Paul Smith beat Darryl Whitehead +18
John Wells beat John Thirlwell +13
Nick Parish beat Joel Taylor +24
Dave Mundy beat Peter Francis +10
Steve Jones beat Tony Forbes +24
Paul Smith beat Eugene Chang +26
Paul Watson beat Darryl Whitehead +6 (T)
Alwen Bowker beat John Wells +11 (T)
Klim Seabright beat Alsion Thursfield +16
Chris Wakeham beat Keith Davis +11 (T)
Nick Parish beat Eugene Chang +9
Joel Taylor beat Paul Smith +5
Klim Seabright beat Adam Moliver +8
Robert Moss beat Darryl Whitehead +13
Alwen Bowker beat Richard Thompson +2 (T)
Nick Saxton beat Eugene Chang +2
Adam Moliver beat Ray Meads +9
Nick Parish beat Peter Francis +19
Paul Hands beat John Wells +4 (T)
Paul Watson beat Paul Smith +8 (T)
Nick Parish beat Nick Saxton +10
Eugene Chang beat Joel Taylor +26
Tony Forbes beat Ray Meads +16


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.