Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

David Magee won the National Seniors' Championship

[<<] [>>] by Julie Horsley at Budleigh Salterton Croquet Club
21 July 2013 (AC - Championships)

First time lucky proved to be the case for David Magee (Cheltenham) as this was the first time he had entered the National Seniors'. In a block of 10 with handicaps ranging from -1 to 1.5, he won 7 out of 9 games as also did Simon Hathrell (Watford), but David having beaten Simon won the Trevor Williams Cup .
In Block B there was a 3 way tie - Tony Bower(Budleigh), Mary Knapp (Surbiton) and Chris Donovan (Budleigh)all with 6 wins out of 7. Mary Knapp emerged as the winner for the Colin Hemming Cup.
Block C for the deAnsorena Cup was won by Roger Hendy (Sidmouth).
Block D for the Nigel Graves Trophy was won by Wayne Wiseman (Bristol) with a clean sweep.
Block E was won by Jackie Hardcastle (Budleigh).
The Handicap singles event was played as an X and Y Knockout with Peter Miller (Sidmouth) winning the X and Peter Hills (Sidmouth) winning the Y.
The Handicap doubles ( using the new trial handicap doubles variation) was played as an X and Y Knockout with Mike Taylor (Sidmouth) and Ken Wallman (Bribie Island) winning the X and Charles Townshend (Budleigh) and Barbara Thompson (Budleigh)winning the Y.
The unaccustomed heat seemed to take its toll - as very few players opted to play any games other than their scheduled ones - still a welcome change from wind and rain.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.