Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Andrew Killick won the Middlesbrough One-Ball Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesbrough Croquet Club
12 Apr 2014 (AC - Handicap)

Andrew Killick won the Middlesbrough One-Ball Tournament with seven wins out of eight.

This year's event, the seventh such, had four lawns available for the first time, so the club had sixteen competitors (welcoming one from Hamptworth and another from Huddersfield). The tournament was once again a heat in the national charity one-ball. The lawns were playing well, albeit a bit on the slow side. Conditions could best be described as 'bracing', so it was just as well that the one-ball format kept everyone on the move!

Handicaps ranged from 0.5 to 20 (NB a third of the bisque difference was used). Round robin draws were used and eight rounds easily completed. Final positions were computed (on the comparative scoring basis, where each player's overall performance is compared with every other player).

Andrew was the clear winner (on 7/8) and equally definite was second placed Colin Green (6/8); other positions required computation, giving the results below:

1 Andrew Killick (Mbro)
2 Colin Green (Tyne)
3 Eugene Brady (Auckland)
4= Derek Johnson (Belsay)
4= Phil Errington (Belsay)
4= Vic Stilwell (Hamptworth)
7= Nigel Roberts (Mbro)
7= Arthur Ogden (Mbro)
9 Charles Waterfield (Mbro)
10 Walter Sanders (Mbro)
11 Derek Old (Belsay)
12 Mike Akester (Mbro)
13 Hilary Grant (Mbro)
14 Derek Watts (Tyne)
15 Malcolm Daines (H'field)
16 Alison Heywood-Hill (Tyne)


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.