CA Logo
CA Logo

Andrew Killick won the Middlesbrough Handicap

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesborough Croquet Club
4 May 2014 (AC - Handicap)

Half of the twelve entries came from the home club (including two people in their first CA tournament), four came down the road from either Belsay or Tyneside, one from Bridlington and (making her second northern foray) Patricia Duke Cox came up from Lincolnshire. Handicaps ranged all the way from 3.5 up to 18.

As before, 18 point games with 2 hour time limits were played and with four lawns we only needed to double-bank on two. The format was an incomplete American block; sequential rounds being selected to minimise waiting times and allow quicker finishers to start their next games.

Four rounds were completed each day, thanks to the enthusiasm and energy of the competitors. Final block positions were calculated using Geoff Taylor's 'match point' program (based on Gaunt & Wheeler), each player's performance being compared pair wise with everyone else's (only counting games played against 'opponents in common').

1st Andrew Killick (M'bro)
2nd Ken Spragg (M'bro)
3rd = Dennis Scarr (M'bro)
3rd = Barbara McDermott (M'bro)
5th Roger Staples (M'bro)
6th = Derek Johnson (Belsay)
6th = Nigel Roberts (M'bro)
8th Patricia Duke-Cox (Nottingham)
9th Jim Gillespie (Beverley)
10th Colin Green (Tyneside)
11th David Millener (Belsay)
12th Alison Heywood ?Hill (Tyneside)


For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is Sam Murray.