Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Andrew Killick won the Middlesbrough CA On-Ball Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesbrough Croquet Club
11 April 2015 (AC)

This year's event, our eighth such, had sixteen local competitors. The tournament was also a heat in the national charity one-ball. The lawns were playing well, albeit on the slow side this early in the season. We were spared rain, but with a rather cold wind.

Handicaps ranged from 0.5 to 20 (the latter figure being used for two players who had no AC experience to date). Round robin draws were selected by the manager and ten rounds completed. Final positions were computed (using comparative scoring, where each player's overall performance was compared with every other player's).

Andrew was the clear winner with 9/10 (and for the third year in a row) and second placed was 'rookie' Brian, just edging out Phil (both on 7/10); other positions required computation, giving the final results:

1 Andrew Killick (Mbro)
2 Brian Gardner (Mbro)
3 Phil Errington (Belsay)
4= Tony Haddrill (Mbro) & Derek Johnson (Belsay)
6= Peter McDermott (Mbro) & Mike Akester (Mbro)
8= Ken Spragg (Mbro) & Geoff Clemence (Belsay)
10 Terry Vernazza (Tyneside)
11 John Fitzpatrick (Mbro)
12= David Millener (Belsay) & Nigel Roberts (Mbro)
14= Derek Watts (Tyneside) & Barbara McDermott (Mbro)
16 Roger Staples (Mbro)


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.