CA Logo
CA Logo

Derek Watts won the Middlesbrough B-Level Advanced Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesbrough Croquet Club
28 June 2015 (AC)

We welcomed twelve competitors this year; two each from Tyneside and Belsay Hall, four from the home club and the others from further afield: Ian Hall (Keswick), Brian Christmas (Church Stretton), Derek Knight (Beverley) and Andrew Webb (Pendle). The event was run as two independent blocks, where handicaps ranged from -0.5 to 2.5 in A and 2.5 to 8 in B. Time-limits of 2.5 hours proved satisfactory, with only three games going to time. Three rounds on Saturday and two on the Sunday resulted in two clear winners, each player having won all his games; prizes were duly presented to both Derek Watts and Dennis Scarr.

Sunny weather (at last) and tasty lunches made for a relaxed and social gathering (thanks are owed to Joan & Dennis Scarr, Sylvia MacCallum, Barbara and Peter McDermott for all their help).

Block A

Derek Watts (Tyneside) beat Derek Knight, Andrew Killick, Charles Waterfield, Phil Errington and Brian Christmas.

Phil Errington (Belsay) beat Derek Knight, Andrew Killick, Charles Waterfield and Brian Christmas.

Andrew Killick (M'bro) beat Derek Knight, Charles Waterfield and Brian Christmas.

Charles Waterfield (M'bro) beat Derek Knight and Brian Christmas.

Derek Knight beat Brian Christmas.

Block B

Dennis Scarr (M'bro) beat Roger Staples, Andrew Webb, Terry Vernazza, Ian Hall and David Turner (Belsay).

Roger Staples (M'bro) beat Andrew Webb, Ian Hall and David Turner.

Andrew Webb beat Terry Vernazza, Ian Hall and David Turner.

Terry Vernazza (Tyneside) beat Roger Staples, Ian Hall and David Turner.

Ian Hall beat David Turner.


For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is Sam Murray.