Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

GC International Performance Development Squad for 2017 Announced

[<<] [>>] by Martin French
3rd February 2017 (GC)

The IPDS squad chosen for 2017 is (in alphabetical order):

  • Nick Archer
  • Richard Bilton
  • David Crawford
  • Peter Dowd
  • Roger Goldring
  • Paul Gunn
  • Jonathan Powe
  • Chris Roberts
  • Jayne Stevens
  • David Widdison.

Candidates were asked to confirm they could commit to the first squad weekend and to play at least 40 ranked GC games in the year. As a result, Alain Giraud and Howard Cheyne have asked to have their offer of a place deferred until 2018.

The Selectors were most influenced by:

  • evidence of a good number of ranked GC games in the past year
  • a ranking grade that is on the rise - particularly for those rapid improvers with a quickly rising grade
  • evidence of competing in events with strong opposition (so Ascot Qualifiers or A-Level Series, for example).

We wish the new IPDS programme every success under the direction of Rachel Rowe.

Martin French


GC Selectors


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.