Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Ian Lines won the 11th Lancashire International Open Golf Croquet Championship (10 & 11 April)

[<<] [>>] by Geoff Young at Heaton Park (hosted by Bury Croquet Club)
11th April 2010 (GC - Championships)

In warm sunshine, last year's winner, David Walters, was beaten into the runner up slot by his fellow club mate, Ian Lines in a Bo3 Final.

Bury Club Chairman Barbara Young presented the Trophies, while her husband Geoff was manager.

In block A Ian Lines was the apparent main contender until an unexpected defeat by James Hopgood, who made a clean sweep of the block, and another to Robbie Dodds who narrowly missed being one of the four qualifiers for the knockout phase, the others being Freda Vitty and Paul Rigge.

In block B holder David Walters was narrowly edged into second place by a defeat by Tim King, with Alan Mayne and Ray Mounfield also qualifying.

Rigge then produced a turn-up by beating King in the quarter-final before narrowly losing to Walters in their semi-final.

In the other half of the draw, Lines defeated Mayne and Hopgood to produce a three-game final, winning it in a match tighter than the scores appear.

In the consolation doubles, David Barrett and Derek Buxton defeated all five opponents in a convincing series.

Quarter-finals Semi-finals Final Champion
Tim King

7-5, 7-3

6-7, 7-2, 7-6

1-7, 7-3, 7-3

Paul Rigge
David Walters

7-5, 7-1

Freda Vitty
Ian Lines

6-7, 7-3, 7-3

7-1, 7-4

Alan Mayne
James Hopgood

7-2, 7-5

Ray Mounfield


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.