Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Brian Cumming won the National Seniors' Championship

[<<] [>>] by Julie Horsley at Budleigh Salterton
21st July 2017 (AC - Championships)

The National Seniors' Championship held at Budleigh Salterton, 10 to 15th July 2017

The National Seniors' Championship returned to Budleigh Salterton CC this year, having been at Sussex County CC for the past 3 years.

The Class Event attracted a record entry of 41 with players travelling from Australia and Canada to join those from many parts of England.

There was a tie in The Seniors' Championship for the Trevor Williams Cup with Brian Cumming from Canada and Jim Field ( Bath CC ) both having 7/9 wins, but on "Who beat whom" Brian was declared the winner. He continued his success with the prize for the fastest game - 30 minutes and 10 seconds in a double banked game and to make the triple
won the prize for the most triple peels having achieved 4.

Block B for the Colin Hemming Cup had a three way tie for first place with Gareth Denyer
( Australia), Peter Thompson ( York CC ) and Richard Wood ( Sidmouth CC ) all having 5/7 wins with " Who beat whom " and quality of wins failing to produce a winner, it therefore came down to net points. The winner was Gareth with Peter as runner-up.
Gareth achieved his Gold Merit Award for his first Triple Peel in a Tournament and then went on to do another one.

Block C for the de Ansorena Cup was won by Nigel Amos ( Budleigh Salterton CC) with 5/7 wins. There was a four way tie for second place with Ian Draper and Bob Thompson ( both from Nottingham CC), David Hopkins ( Phyllis Court CC) and Richard Williamson ( Bristol CC) all having 4/7 wins - on quality of wins Bob emerged as the runner up.

Block D for the Nigel Graves Trophy again had a tie for first place with Jane Babbage
( Sidmouth CC) and Charles Ostler ( Hunstanton/Pinchbeck CC's ) both having 6/7 wins. Jane however had beaten Charles so was declared the winner.
Block E ( which has not been contested for the last three years ) - for a small silver goblet was won by the CA's Chairman of Council, Brian Shorney ( Eardisley/Cheltenham CC's), there was a tie for second place with Meriel Ellerby ( Bristol CC) and Richard Peperell ( Phyllis Court/Wycombe CC's ) both with 4/7 wins. On who beat whom Richard was declared the winner. This was quite an achievement as this was Richard's first Advanced Play Tournament.

The Final for Event 2 - The Handicap Singles was between Brian Shorney and Charles Ostler. Brian's bisques proved too much for Charles enabling Brian to win the Quiller Cup.
The Final for the Handicap doubles was between Adam Wimshurst and Scylla Blackwell both from Budligh Salterton/Exeter CC's and Jim Field and Charles Ostler with Adam and Scylla winning the Croquet Association Cups.

The Y doubles final was between last years' winners Peter Thompson and Bob Thompson and Philip Harris and Susan Rogers both from Sidmouth CC, with Philip and Susan being the winners.

Peter Death on behalf of the CA presented the trophies and thanked Budleigh Salterton CC for hosting the event.
He thanked everyone involved in running the tournament and the players for entering the tournament.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.