Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Budleigh May Week Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Julie Horsley at Budleigh
5th May 2018 (AC - Mixed)

After seeing the weather report of heavy rain for Monday, players turned up with waterproofs at the ready. However, the rain had passed through overnight and by the time play started it was "How many layers can I put on and still be able to play" as there was a strong northerly wind - the waterproofs did come in useful. As the week progressed so did the weather so by Friday sun bloc replaced the thermals and waterproofs and players were able to sit and enjoy both the sun and their opponents play.

The week started with the Handicap Doubles played as a Knock-out X and Y. The final of the X was between Jim Field ( Nailsea CC) /Sally Hunt ( Hurlingham CC) and Peter Nelson /Andrew Thomas ( both from Sidmouth CC) with Peter and Andrew winning +1. The Y doubles final was between Cliff Jones (Wrest Park CC) / Sudy Harrison (Surbiton CC) and Chris Donovan/ Ian Friedlander (both from Sidmouth CC) with Chris and Ian winning +2.

The Handicap Singles was won by Alan Pidcock ( Southport CC) beating the Manager +1T.

In the Class Event, there was a three-way tie Block A for the Godfrey Turner Challenge Cup between Peter Moore( Budleigh Salterton CC), Anthony Dix ( East Dorset CC) and Cliff Jones all with 6 wins. It came down to net points to arrive at a winner which was Anthony Dix.

In Block B for the Woodlands Quaich Chris Donovan had a clean sweep with 7/7 wins and a well deserved handicap reduction.

In Block C for the JK Brown Memorial Cup there was again a three-way tie for first place with Mike Steer (Bowdon CC) and Mike Taylor and Philip Harris (both from Sidmouth CC). On net points Philip was declared the winner.

In Block D, Brian Shorney ( Eardisley/Budleigh/Cheltenham CC's) had a clean sweep with 7/7 wins and a well deserved handicap reduction.

In Block E for the Pat Tumner Cup there was a two way tie for first place with Rosemary Bradshaw ( Budleigh CC) and Sudy Harrison both with 4 wins but on "Who beat whom" Sudy was declared the winner.
Chris Roberts ( Phyllis Court CC) attained his Silver Merit Award and Richard Thurlow ( Sidmouth CC) attained his Bronze Merit Award.
As usual there was a prize for the fastest game which Jim Field won that with a time of 39 minutes.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.