CA Logo
CA Logo

Middlesbrough B-Level Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesbrough
24 Jun 2018 (AC)

Won by Derek Watts
Runner-up Andrew Killick

This was our tenth B-level in Albert Park, with a record sixteen competitors, four from the home club and the others from further afield, including two from Scotland and one from Victoria in Australia. With four good lawns the overall scheme was simply based around the number 4.

On Saturday the four blocks of 4 had been carefully seeded. Then on the Sunday new blocks simply comprised those players who on Saturday had come 1st in each block, those who came 2nd, etc, etc. Order of play in each block was 1v3 & 2v4, 1v4 & 2v3, 1v2 & 3v4.

Time-limits of 2.75 hr on day one were reduced to 2.5 hr the next day with three rounds each day. All lawns were of course double-banked, but with rotation of lawn after each round.

After the first day's rounds, each block was won by a top seed, so forming the 'top guns' block for the Sunday (Killick, Errington, Scarr, Watts).

At the end of play Derek Watts and Andrew Killick were tied on two wins apiece and the players agreed to a peg shoot-out. This turned out to be a rather long drawn-out affair (each having a series of attempts with 4 balls) after the fourth round Derek Watts was 3-1 up and declared the winner - with Andrew Killick runner-up. Phil Errington and Dennis Scarr were in joint 3rd place (the latter with a HC reduction to 1)

Winners of the other three blocks were (in terms of net wins):
(ii) David Warhurst,
(iii) Callum Johnson (in his first Advanced event, earning a HC reduction from 6 to 5)
(iv) David Lloyd

Both Rosemary and Bill completed 12-hoop breaks and will receive their CA Silver Awards.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.