Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Robert Upton won the Sally Nichols trophy for Edgbaston Advanced B-Class

[<<] [>>] by Ian Slater at Edgbaston
27 Aug 2018 (AC)

The rain started on Sunday 26th August as eight players arrived for
Edgbaston's B Class event. When the first games came to an end the lawns
were on the point of being unplayable, whilst a week beforehand they
were still very tricky following the drought. Fortunately conditions
gradually improved during a lunch which no one wanted to hurry and it
was possible to complete three games as planned. A further challenge
came from club President Ken Jones whose evening game against Sylvia
Steer finally ended at dusk when he scored penult some turns after time
had been called, leaving him the overnight leader with three wins.

Neal Bacon and Robert Upton also qualified for two rounds of knock-out.
Robert beat Ken in the final to take the trophy. Paul Trafford won the
consolation playoff.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.