Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Report on the Challenge and Gilbey

[<<] [>>] by Julie Horsley at Budleigh Salterton CC
5 Sep 2019 (AC - Mixed)

The Challenge and Gilbey returned to Sussex County CC, with greatly reduced numbers, having for the last two years been played at Budleigh Salterton CC. 8 of the 20 players having travelled from the West Country.

Before presenting the trophies, Quiller Barrett, President of the CA, said he would like to give a brief history of how this tournament, as one of the oldest, came about. Here is what he had to say " In 1900 the Sheen House Club, which was then the headquarters of the United All England Croquet Association ( as the Croquet Association was known at the time ) presented to the Association a Challenge Cup for open competition. This trophy was won by Sir William Bruce who beat J. E. Austen +6,+26 in the final. In 1903 the Roehampton Club presented additional Cups so there were then three Roehampton Challenge Cups. In 1920 the Chairman of the CA Council, Mr. Arthur N Gilbey, who was also a prominent supporter of angling and other field sports, presented a Cup to the Association for a handicap competition. From a field of 164 entries the first Gilbey Cup was won by Mr. L. A. Chope of Roehampton who played under the pseudonym of A N Other. In 1923 the decision was made to run the Challenge Cups and the Gilbey Cup as a joint tournament, a " marriage" which has lasted unbroken to the present day. That year ten lawns at Roehampton were available and 265 entrants played in the tournament that was spread over a fortnight, something of a marathon for the manager."

Perhaps there is a challenge here, to see how many entries there are next year.

Block A - The Roehampton Cup was won by Dave Kibble from Bristol CC with 6/7 wins this was the first time that Dave had played in this tournament. Jim Field was runner-up.

Block B - The Council Cup was win by Richard Williamson from Bristol CC with 5/6 wins - John Taylor was runner -up.

The Reckitt Cup was uncontested this year due to lack of entries.

Block D - The Stevenson Cup was won by Kevin Wright ( who only entered at the very last minute ) from Auchincruive CC with 5/6 wins. Runner-up was Brian Shorney.

The Gilbey Goblet was won by Liz Farrow from Sussex County CC beating Jim Field +26 in the final.

The Triple Peel prize was won by Dave Kibble and the fastest game was won by Jim Field.

Quiller thanked everyone involved in putting on the tournament.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.