CA Logo
CA Logo

Day 4

[<<] [>>]
6th December 2002 (World Championship)

Reg Bamford, Robert Fulford, Dave Maugham and David Openshaw through the first round with Chris Clarke, who beat Trevor Bassett without conceding a point. Phil Cordingley also through by beating Mark McInerney.

David Goacher, Ed Duckworth, Jerry Guest, Dave Mundy and Keith Aiton all lost their first round matches

Reg Bamford (SA) bt Peter Batchelor (NZ) 1-26, 26-1 SXP, 26-1 Toby Garrison (NZ) bt Jerry Guest (E) 26-1 TP, 26-0 Bob Jackson (NZ) bt Curtis Drake (USA) 26-1 TP, 26-0 Phil Cordingley (E) bt Mark McInerney (I) 9-26, 26-1 TP, 26-9 TP Joe Hogan (NZ) bt Bruce Fleming (A) 26-10 STP, 26-0 Ronan McInerney (I) bt Peter Trimmer (E) 26-9 TP, 26-5 TP Dennis Bulloch (NZ) bt Stephen Forster (A) 26-3, 3-26, 26-16 Andrew Johnston (I) bt David Goacher (E) 0-26 P, 26-11, 26-9 Robert Fulford (E) bt Jocelyn Sutton (A) 26-9, 26-0 TP David Openshaw (E) bt Jerry Stark (USA) 26-21, 26-18 TP Chris Clarke (E) bt Trevor Bassett (A) 26-0 TP, 26-0 Martin Clarke (A) bt Ed Duckworth (E) 26-8, 0-26
David Maugham (E) bt Paul Skinley (NZ) 26-0 TP, 22-26, 26-0 Brian Wislang (NZ) bt Dave Mundy (E) 26-11, 26-13 John Prince (NZ) bt Keith Aiton (S) 26-15, 0-26 TP, 26-11 TP Simon Williams (I) bt Bruce Baker (NZ) 26-6 TP, 26-20

The first round losers now join the winners from the plate block play (below) in the plate knockout. For a description of the Prince/Aiton clash, see the match of the day on the website -


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.