CA Logo
CA Logo

Dennis Scarr won the Middlesborough B-Level AC Tournament

[<<] [>>] by Charles Waterfield at Middlesborough
30th June (AC)

For our twelfth B-level in Albert Park we had just eight competitors, two from the home club and six from Tyneside, Bury and Keswick. Handicaps ranged from 1 to 4.5. Time-limits were 2¼ hrs. A single block, round-robin, was 6/7th completed.

Three rounds on the first day and another three on Sunday produced the following results:

Dennis Scarr beat Errington, Hall, Staples, Jones, Vernazza

Anthony Miller beat Errington, Hall, Jones, Skelton, Vernazza

Stephen Skelton beat Staples, Jones, Scarr

Ian Hall beat Errington, Jones, Vernazza

Terry Vernazza beat Staples, Jones, Skelton

Roger Staples beat, Hall, Miller

Phil Errington beat Staples, Skelton

Ken Jones beat Errington

Given that a number of players faced long journeys home it was decided not to play the 7th round. Final positions were calculated on wins followed by total hoops..

Dennis Scarr accrued 152 points to Anthony Miller's 145; so an extremely close result!

Detailed results:

Round 1 Round 4

Hall bat Errington 26-12 Jones bt Errington 22-15

Miller bt Vernazza 25-22 Scarr bt Staples 26-16

Skelton bt Staples 25-12 Miller bt Skelton 26-13

Scarr bt Jones 26-4 Hall bt Vernazza 22-11

Round 2 Round 5

Miller bt Errington 26-24 Scarr bt Errington 26-9

Staples bt Hall 26-18 Skelton bt Jones 16-8

Vernazza bt Jones 23-19 Vernazza bt Staples 20-17

Skelton bt Scarr 23-22 Miller bt Hall 26-17

Round 3 Round 6

Errington bt Staples 26-16 Errington bt Skelton 23-13

Miller bt Jones 26-8 Scarr bt Vernazza 26-7

Scarr bt Hall 26-2 Hall bt Jones 25-14

Vernazza bt Skelton 19-18 Staples bt Miller 26-17


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.