Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

2023 AC Inter-County Championship

[<<] [>>] by Chris Williams at Sussex County & Compton
25th May 2023 (AC - Championships)

The 108th Inter County Championship takes place this weekend at Sussex County and Compton Croquet clubs. It will be the 26th time the event has been played in the two division format.

Both Glamorgan and Dorset will be fielding non-qualified players to make up the numbers and hence will be ineligible for promotion and for winning the division.

Holders Surrey will be aiming to win their 23rd title, but Middlesex with the strongest team on paper will be aiming for their 28th title. Of all the other counties only Nottinghamshire with 9 titles have won it more than 7 times.

Results will be added to CroquetScores

Croquet England will be launched to the public at lunchtime on the final day (Tuesday) at Southwick.

The current team lists as listed per the CA website are

Division 1

Joe King (C), Robin Brown, Richard Huxley, Andy Myers, Mark Ormerod, Joel Taylor

Rich Waterman (C), Tim Brewer, Andrew Dutton, Robert Fulford, Jonathan Hills, Debbie Lines, Aston Wade, Jack Wicks

Simon Hathrell (C), Will Gee, David Marsh, Alison Maugham, David Maugham, Richard M Smith

Paul Rigge (C), Lorna Dewar, Rick Harding, James Hawkins, Ailsa Lines, Annabel McDiarmid,

Nick Parish (C), Gavin Carter, Eugene Chang, Tom Coles, Harry Fisher, Gabrielle Higgins, Ian Lines, Jose Riva

Richard White (C), Keith Aiton, Euan Burridge, James Death, Dave Gunn, Omied Hallam, Sanaa Hallam, Patrick Hort

Dayal Gunasekera (C), Raouf Allim, Jenny Clarke, Sophie McGlen, Jordan Waters, Stephen Wright

David Goacher (C), Kristian Chambers, Ed Duckworth, Marcus Evans, James Galpin, Roger Tribe

Samir Patel (C), Jeff Dawson, Andy Dibben, George Noble, Chris O'Byrne, Duncan Reeve, Tim Russell, Tim Wilkins

Roger Wood (C), Paul Castell, Alan Cottle, Phil Dunk, Mark Fawcett, Clive Hayton, Craig Oakley, Chris Rolph, Ian Vincent

John Davis (C), Rod Ashwell, Robert Essler, Callum Johnson, Mike Town, David Warhurst, Robert Wilkinson

Division 2

Simon Jenkins (C), Charles Harding, Nick Harvey, Nigel Matthews, Alex McIntyre, Brian Medley, David Mooney

Jonathan Powe (C), Anthony Dix, David Fuller, David Kendrick, David Williams, David Marcus*

Chris Williams (C), John Bowcott, Dave Evans, Tudor Jenkins, Angharrad Walters, Robert Essler, Liz Farrow, Nigel Polhill*

Dave Kibble (C), Louise Bradforth, Craig Edwards, Martin Murray, Wayne Wiseman, Wendy Wu

Robert Alexander (C), Pierre Beaudry, John Daniels, Jon Diamond, Brian Havill, Philip Mann, Chris Martin, Tobi Savage

Jonathan Toye ( C), Sarah Barley, Peter Hanley, Gordon Mills, Charles Ostler, John Reddish

Philip Eardley (C), Mark Avery, Paul Hetherington, Martin Leach, Anthony Miller, Lewis Palmer, Albie Willett

Ken Jones (C), Neal Bacon, Cliff Daniel, Andrew Gregory, Adrian Morris, Peter Payne, Ian Slater, Roger Tedstone

Andrew Willis (C), Richard Dickson, Roger Hayes, Jonathan Lacey, Beatrice McGlen, Andy Smith, Harvey Smith

* - players are not qualified to play for the county, but are allowed to compete to make up the numbers.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.