Croquet England Logo
Croquet England Logo

Nottingham beat York to win the Short Croquet Inter-Club 6-5

[<<] [>>] by David Brydon at York
25 Aug 2023 (AC - Short Croquet Inter-Club)

Short Croquet Inter-Club knockout final at York on 25 August 2023

Nottingham beat York 6:5

Detailed game scores:

David Brydon (0.5) and Tom Dewar (4) beat Debbie James (3) and Wendy Robertson (5) 14-2
Mick Owens (3.5) beat Chris Atkinson (2.5) 14-8
David Park (4) lost to Cathie Dance (4) 8-11(t)

Brydon beat Atkinson 14-0
Owens beat James 14-4
Park lost to Robertson 7-14
Dewar lost to Dance 9-11(t)

Brydon lost to Robertson 0-14
Park lost to Atkinson 4-14
Owens beat Dance 14-5
Dewar beat James 14-2

York played host to a closely-fought final between their SC team and last year's losing finalists Nottingham. After the doubles and two singles games in Round 1, the visitors led 2-1. Round 2 ended with a cliff-hanger between York's Cathie Dance and Nottingham's Tom Dewar. With time called and Cathie leading 11-6 and her balls carefully separated, Tom (on 4 & 4) would need to fit in two peels whilst scoring just three hoops to level the scores and send the game into a golden hoop. Watched by an audience by now well into double figures Tom's first peel attempt bounced back a few inches requiring a stylish jump shot to make hoop 4, followed by a nervy hoop 5, a very impressive rush peel through 4 and a long take-off to hoop 6, where the brave attempt sadly ended. Tom had come close but Cathie gained the point for York, restricting Nottingham's lead at lunch to 4-3. All to play for in Round 3.

The afternoon round was decisive. Two York players, Chris Atkinson and Wendy Robertson, both pegged out for convincing wins, Wendy effortlessly trouncing Nottingham's captain 14-0, giving York a 5-4 lead. But Nottingham soon squeezed home by winning the remaining two singles games, Mick Owens and Tom Dewar playing controlled and precise croquet and using their bisques well.

The final result was 6-5 to Nottingham.

Thanks to York for hosting and providing a delicious lunch; to passing racegoers in their finery walking to the Ebor Festival at the nearby race course; and to CA President Patricia Duke-Cox for a long day travelling north to support the event and present the trophy.


David Brydon, Mick Owens, Tom Dewar, David Park

Chris Atkinson, Debbie James, Cathie Dance, Wendy Robertson


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.