CA Logo
CA Logo

GC Rules: New Official Ruling on Rule 7

[<<] [>>] by Martin French
8th October 2015 (CA Official News)

The CA GC Rules Committee has published an Official Ruling to Rule 7 of the 4th Edition GC Rules. It has been added to the webpage of existing Official Rulings and to the printable version to paste into your rule book.

To explain the new Official Ruling CAOR 7 with an illustration: When contesting hoop 5, Yellow is cleared by Blue, coming to rest in hoop 6. Red then attempts to block Black's path to Hoop 5 but is unsuccessful and Black runs hoop 5 from some distance. The new OR clarifies that Yellow - which is onside having arrived in hoop 6 off an oppo's ball - is entitled to complete the running of what has now become "the correct hoop in order".

The ruling was added after it was found a number of experienced referees had different opinions as to how to interpret the first sentence of Rule 7(a) in this situation.



 

For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is Sam Murray.