CA Logo
CA Logo

Changes in the Eights

[<<] [>>] by Jeff Dawson
8th September 2004 (CA Official News)

David Harrison-Wood withdrew from the Chairman's Salver Eight yesterday due to the death of a close family member yesterday afternoon. David acted promptly by notifying the office within the hour.

The rules for promotion into the Chairman's are well defined but since the Spencer Ell and the Treasurer's Tankard are due to start the morning after (i.e. today), a lot of players were already on route to their venues.

It was quickly realised that it was not practicable to promote anyone from the Tankard (based in London) to the Ell (in Southport, the other end of the country). However, as the Chairman's starts a day later than the Ell, it was still possible to promote from the Ell to the Chairman's. Chris Williams was first in line for promotion, but we only managed to contact him once he had arrived in Southport, and understandably he has declined to take the promotion on offer. However, Ian Lines has instead agreed to do so, and Chris has agreed to act as manager for the Ell in Ian's absence. Chris has also contacted John Haslam, a local member at Southport, and a last minute stand-in has been arranged for the Spencer Ell so that it can be played as an 8 rather than 7.


President's Cup Chairman's Salver Spencer Ell Cup Treasurer's Tankard Selectors' Weekend

Mark Avery
Dennis Bulloch
Chris Clarke
Robert Fulford
Jonathan Kirby
Dave Maugham
Stephen Mulliner
Pete Trimmer

David Goacher
Robin Brown
Jeff Dawson
Rutger Beijderwellen
Tim Wilkins
Jenny Williams
Keith Aiton
Ian Lines

Chris Williams
Chris Daniels
Roger Jenkins
Duncan Hector
David Magee
Dave Nick
Dave Mundy
(local stand-in)

Louise Bradforth
Cliff Jones
Andy Davies
Michael Heap
Nick Harris
Paul Smith
Paul Castell
Tom Weston

Russell Bretherton
Chris Crowcroft
Richard Dickson
Craig Edwards
Graham Gale
Mark Gooding
Gerard Healy
Gordon Hopewell
David Mooney
Nelson Morrow
Dave Trimmer
Lawrence Whittaker

Reserves Reserves Reserves Reserves Reserves

David Goacher
Colin Irwin
then by promotion

by promotion by promotion

Lawrence Whittaker
Martin Haggerston
Craig Edwards
Sam Symonds


Note that the President's Cup and Selectors' Weekend are in alphabetical order, others are in order of merit.

President's Cup Hurlingham September 9-12
Chairman's Salver Hunstanton September 9-12
Spencer Ell Cup Southport & Birkdale September 8-12
Treasurer's Tankard Surbiton September 8-12
Selectors' Weekend Budleigh Salterton September 10-12


Event Manager ROT
President's Cup David Maugham Stephen Mulliner
Chairman's Salver Jeff Dawson David Harrison-Wood
Spencer Ell Cup Chris Williams Chris Williams
Treasurer's Tankard George Noble Paul Smith
Selectors' Weekend Gordon Hopewell Gerard Healy

previous winners


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.