Croquet England Logo

Most Improved Player Awards

The award scheme is described in the Fixtures Calendar section Most Improved Player Awards.

See also the Silver Medal Winners and Merit Awards.


Apps Memorial Bowl
for the most improved man
(AC only from 2009) *

Steel Memorial Bowl
for the most improved woman
(AC only from 2009) *

Spiers Trophy
for the most improved GC Player
(male player from 2021)

Colman Trophy
for the most improved female GC Player

2023 David Fuller Gabrielle Higgins Dominic Aarvold Liz Drury
2022 Aston Wade Lorna Dewar Sam Cuthbert Patricia Mulcahy
2021 Neal Bacon Heather Bennett Jack Good/Aston Wade Glynis Davies
2020 not awarded not awarded not awarded

This trophy was first awarded in 2021

2019 Callum Johnson Sophie McGlen Steve Leonard  
2018 Daniel Gott not awarded Stuart M Smith  
2017 Chris Coull Sarah Melvin Richard Bilton  
2016 Andy Myers Louise Bradforth Paul Gunn  
2015 Jonathan Powe Alison Girdlestone Peter Dowd  
2014 Ian Anderson not awarded John-Paul Moberly  
2013 Harry Fisher Caroline Denny Harry Dodge  
2012 Nick Mounfield Francois Garcia Harry Dodge  
2011 Christian Carter Sara Anderson William Gee  
2010 Sanaa Hallam Gabrielle Higgins Nicholas Cheyne  
2009 James Field Gabrielle Higgins Howard Cheyne  
2008 James Le Moignan Rachel Rowe This trophy was first presented in 2009  
2007 Tony Forbes Elaine Norsworthy  
2006 Richard Dickson Alwen Bowker  
2005 William Gee not awarded  
2004 Jack Wicks Gina Lewis  
2003 Chris Daniels Julie Hudson  
2002 Rutger Beijderwellen Greta Stringer  
2001 Marcus Evans Jenny Williams  
2000 Andrew Keeble Gail Curry  
1999 James Mackay not awarded  
1998 Deiniol Morgan Susan Edwards  
1997 Andrew Cowing Shona Vaissiere  
1996 Austin Sherlaw-Johnson Naomi Green  
1995 Ian Lines Ailsa Lines  
1994 Dave Kibble not awarded  
1993 Peter Taylor Beatrice McGlen  
1992 not awarded not awarded  
1991 Paul Day Eileen Magee  
1990 Cliff Jones Alex O'Connor  
1989 Dan McCormick Gill Bogle  
1988 Steve Comish Clare Collis  
1987 Russell Collighan Fiona McCoig  
1986 Chris Clarke Debbie Cornelius  
1985 Bill Lamb Kismet Whittall  
1984 Danny Palmer Jan MacLeod  
1983 Martin French Bo Harris  
1982 Terry Wood not awarded  
1981 Colin Irwin Margaret Newman  
1980 Paddy Paddon Margaret Cotterell  
1979 Francis Landor Mrs CA Chard  
1978 David Foulser/Bryan Sykes Sue Sykes (nee Foden)  
1977 David Openshaw Dab Wheeler  
1976 David Croker Elizabeth Tunmer  
1975 Terry Wood Marion Hemsted  
1974 Stephen Wright Heather Handley  
1973 Andrew Hope Miss DG Leach  
1972 William Prichard Alison Wood  
1971 John Rose Etty Digby  
1970 Bunny Vulliamy Edith Arkell  
1969 Norman Cox Barbara Meachem  
1968 Donald Himmens Betty Prichard  
1967 Tyrwhitt Wheeler Jocelyn Sundius-Smith  
1966 Bill Perry Kitty Sessions/Mrs HF Nalder  
1965 Giles Borrett Mrs L Riggall  
1964 Rodney Shewan

This trophy was first presented in 1965

1963 Peter Fidler    
1962 John Bolton    
1961 EC Heathcote    
1960 David Prichard    

* Apps Memorial Bowl - This silver rose bowl was donated to The Croquet Association in 1959 by Captain Reid-Walker in memory of Mrs Lorn C Apps, a distinguished player for many years who won the Women's Championship in 1923 (as Mrs Strickland) and the Ladies Field on three consecutive occasions 1935 - 37. She was a great enthusiast for the game and one of the Association's most devoted servants, serving as its Secretary from 1948 to 1959.

* Steel Bowl - In 1965 Miss Evelyn Steel presented The Croquet Association with a silver rose bowl which had been won by her sister, D D Steel. Council decided to award this as a trophy to be held for one year by the most improved woman player of the year, at the same time reserving the Apps Bowl, which hitherto had been awarded to the most improved player of either sex, for the most improved man.

The original bowl was stolen from the Croquet England office in April 1993 and in its place a glass bowl is now awarded outright each year.

* Spiers Trophy - This trophy was donated by John Spiers in 2009 for the most improved GC player.

* Colman Trophy - This trophy was donated by Frances Colman in 2021 for the most improved female GC player.

Back to Top