hide menuhide menu CA Logo hide menuhide menu


Home > Games > Golf > Refereeing > GC Ref Practice Qs
CA Logo

GC Refereeing: Practice Questions

Answer each question and include reference to the relevant rule or rules:

  1. What is the halfway line between hoops 12 and 13?
  2. When can a fault be committed?
  3. When is a fault condoned?
  4. A player plays a jump shot after which the opponent draws attention to an indentation in the lawn obviously caused by the ball. Is this a fault?
  5. When may extra strokes not be used?
  6. Ray plays Yellow through the hoop in order from the non-playing side. The ball goes through the hoop to the playing side but a rabbit run causes the ball to roll back into the jaws in a position where it has started to run the hoop. After Bab has played Blue, Ray then plays Red and peels Yellow through and claims the point. Is the point scored?
  7. Is a fresh air stroke a fault?
  8. In a match of more than one game, who starts the 2nd and 3rd games and with which ball?
  9. In a game with no referee in charge, both players cannot agree on what has happened (i.e. fact). Whose opinion prevails?
  10. Bab scores a hoop with Blue. Ray plays Red quickly but Bab points out that Yellow is off-side and requests that Yellow is put on the penalty spot on the eastern boundary and for Ray to re-play Red. Does Ray have to replay Red? Ray then points out that Black is also off-side and asks for it to be placed on the same penalty spot. What should Bab's reply be?
  11. What are the definitions of the striker's ball and the striker?
  12. Who announces the score after a point is scored?
  13. Is there a maximum thinking time between strokes that is considered acceptable?
  14. The striker hits the hoop but does not touch the ball in the hoop but the ball quivers. Is this a fault?
  15. May a point be scored as the result of interference by an outside agency?
  16. In handicap doubles, Bab (handicap 8) and Ken (handicap 4) play Ray (handicap 6) and Yellow (handicap 6). What extra strokes are received and by whom?
  17. Bab plays Yellow ball and in doing so, clearly double taps clearing Red. What is the penalty?
  18. Bab states that she will play an extra stroke after committing a fault. The balls are replaced. Bab then changes her mind. How does play proceed?
  19. Bab plays Blue which cannons off Red and hits her partner's mallet. B goes off the court. How does play proceed?
  20. How may a ball in an offside position when a point is scored not be an offside ball?

 

For results, news, reports, corrections, updates, etc. see contact the CA. As an anti-spam measure when not logged-in, # replaces @ in email addresses - click on the link as usual to send an email.

The CA will not share your personal details with any other organisation and undertakes to keep them confidential as described in our Security, Privacy, and Cookie Policies and Information.